Ive got this URGE

Discussion in 'Community' started by StokeLee, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. StokeLee macrumors 6502

    StokeLee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent. Midlands, UK
    #1
    TO wipe my iMac's harddrive and reinstall everything,,,,,,,,,,,,

    I dont know why i just want to.................... Where's my xp laptop,, ill reinstall xp instead,lol,,,
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Is either machine playing up?

    I know what you mean, it's a nice feeling having a completely fresh OS. :D
     
  3. StokeLee thread starter macrumors 6502

    StokeLee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent. Midlands, UK
    #3
    Nope, my iMac still like the day i got it,, almost,, fair few more icons,,
    and my laptop, i only reformatted last week, so both running perfect,, its just an URGE,,,,,,,,,,,
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    it means that you have too much time, JK ;)


    i have that urge every now and then, but i just ignore it :D
     
  5. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #5
    I swear, everyday more and more terrible threads keep popping up on this site. This one would be a prime example.

    jon
     
  6. EJBasile macrumors 65816

    EJBasile

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7

    Just do it! You know you want to. :D
     
  8. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #8
    As long as you have everything backed up, then I say go ahead and satisfy your urge. If nothing else it will keep you busy for a while. How strong is this urge, do you need to talk? We are here for you if needed. ;)
     
  9. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #9
    You're not alone in that. I'd installed and run OS X 10.1 and all incremental updates and upgrades through Jaguar 10.2.8 so, when I upgraded to Panther, I zeroed out my HD and did an erase and install. Some think it's a good idea after several OS's.
    http://www.everythingcomputers.com/reformat.htm
    X
     
  10. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #10
    Just do it. It doesn't take all that long and will make you feel better. Just do it...
     
  11. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #11
    Or, just say "No" to this urge..... I have that urge as well; but, I have MX2004 Suite and Adobe CS2 and I don't want to mess up the activation things when I decide to fulfilll this urge. I want to upgrade my PB15" to Tiger from Panther 10.3.9. So far, my 12" PB and 15" Ti are running Tiger 10.4.2.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    FWIW, I always find my PC runs much faster after a reinstall. Even without spyware, I find the PC slows down quite a bit just from general use.
     
  13. Xephian macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #13
    It's always good to do a Format on PC's atleast every ~6 months.
     
  14. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #14
    Heh, I get the urge as well. And I've always obliged. I almost never keep anything I'm afraid to lose on the computer. They're always on remote servers, or on disks. So it's a trivial matter to upload whatever I do have on the HD to said servers, and reformat+install. And they usually stay on the servers too.
     
  15. StokeLee thread starter macrumors 6502

    StokeLee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent. Midlands, UK
    #15
    you know what i think i mite do it,,, it will be a learning experience, ill just have a look round for the codes i need for anything that ive brought,, which isnt much, , and if i run into trouble, ive got my *ahem* trust XP laptop to post here for help.......

    Ill do it tmrw though
     
  16. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    trusty what?! bite your tongue... bite it real hard! :D

    i've never had the urge you seem to have, but i am perpetually lazy and think that is more work than i care to put in. i got a mac (among many other reasons) so that i wouldn't have to jack around with these kinds of things, but that's just me. whatever tickles your chicken dude. ;)
     

Share This Page