ive messed up FCP 5...help

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by iJUNKY, May 17, 2006.

  1. iJUNKY macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #1
    ok, what the hell have I done!!!

    here is the deal:

    i was messing around with the "Final Cut Pro Documents" folder in documents, i moved it to my Movies folder.

    then under system prefs in FCP I changed the scratch disk stc to the new folder in the movies folder.

    i think thats all i did,

    NOW FCP won't start up at all! it briefly gets to the FCP loading screen then just cuts out.

    if someone could please help :) :) :) , i'll promise not to f**k around with it again.

    thanks
     
  2. hsilver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    New York
  3. iJUNKY thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #3
    ok the problem is definately with the scratch disk.

    hsilver: i should have said, i replaced the file, so that it and all its contents are in the Documents folder again.

    I deleted the file I saved in Movies, and when I went to open FCP again it told me to reset the scratch disk, which I did, to the Documents>Final Cut Pro Documents .

    still wont work!

    :(

    i've tried reinstalling it, but it still has the same settings so won't work.

    even if someone could tell me how to do an absolute uninstall (so that the settings don't stay).
     
  4. iJUNKY thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #4
    sorry, fixed it myself, i think (well its working)

    i unistalled, and deleted the User Prefs, then reinstalled.
     
  5. mikemodena macrumors 6502a

    mikemodena

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #5
    Next time, just trash the Prefs.. no need to reinstall, but it doesn't hurt.
     

Share This Page