I've owned the iPod Touch since 2008, and didnt know this feature i found by accident

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by cnev3, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. cnev3
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #1
    You can use the volume switch for the shutter button, for the camera, which is way easier and accurate than using the on screen shutter button.

    Just found this out by accident. Shoulda found this easier. Duh!!
     
  2. braddick
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #2
    I swear, I didn't know that either until just now.
    Thanks for the tip.
     
  3. hismikeness
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
  4. Xeblade
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    It's handy, but not always more accurate as when you press it, there is a higher chance the photo will be blurry. As the device will move.
     
  5. chaoz28
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #5
    But the 4th gen was released in 2010 not in 2008 right? :)
     
  6. Thetonyk123
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Correct.
     
  7. Jelliess
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    #7
    Yep true. Gen 4, the first iTouch with camera built-in released in 2010. And the feature of "volume button as a shutter" was introduced in iOS5 in 2011 if i'm not wrong. :)
     
  8. lunaoso
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Yup as others have said- added in iOS 5. It also works on the iPhone and possibly the ipad(not sure as I still have the 1st gen).
     
  9. jroz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    jroz

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #9
    Huh, somehow I missed that one! Good to know...
     
  10. virginblue4
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    As others have said, it was added in iOS 5. However, I find photos come out clearer when using the on screen button, as it doesn't cause the device to move as much.

    Yes, it also works on iPad.
     

Share This Page