iWeb 08 site looks totally different when published?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by 2A Batterie, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #1
    My site looks completely different on my computer than when I view it on another computer. It actually looks like my browser is accessing the files from my HD instead of the internet. Any ideas why? I ask because I want to fix some errors on my published site, such as a fonts appearing differently and the spacing of a page being totally messed up. Again, this doesn't happen when I view it on my computer, but it does on others. Any help? I'm using OSX 10.5.8 and iWeb 08 on a 2.4ghz core 2 duo Mac Book.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Might be a cache issue in the browser using older versions of your site files. Also could because you're using a different browser on the other machine.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #3
    I've cleared out the cache and have viewed the website in multiple browsers to no avail.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Maybe some screen shots showing the differences would help. There's not much to go on currently. From the source code it doesn't look like any paths are looking for something locally on a machine. Do you have any extensions on your browser that may be causing issues?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #5
    Just out of curiosity, when you got to http://www.aaronapter.com/aaronapter/Tool_Box.html

    Is this what you see?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #6
  7. Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Almost. The header fonts are different. Attaching what I see with Firefox 3.6 on XP. What's like happening is that it's using a font that some computers don't have, in which case it tries a different one. Here is the font CSS for the AaronApter.com text in the header.

    Code:
    font-family:'zArista','[z] Arista','Verdana',sans-serif;
    Most computers likely don't have the font zArista or [z] Arista so use Verdana instead, which is the font my machine seems to be using for it.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page