iWeb doing my nut in... check my site please?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by MacBoobsPro, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #1
    iWeb is driving me crazy today. I uploaded an update to my website http://www.stuartluff.co.uk last night and all looked fine. When I got to work today I decided to check how it looked on a different machine. I found it had acquired a black stroke around certain objects. Namely the grey box at the top (that contains the stuartluff logotype) and the green bar at the bottom.

    Can someone please take a look and tell me if there is a black out line on the aforementioned boxes as I have emptied the cache, Reset Safari, Rebooted and everything but they still seem to be there. I am 100% certain they were not there last night when I was at home.

    I cant post a screeny as I am at work.

    Thanks.

    BTW this happens quite often, does anyone know why? :confused:
     
  2. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    You crazy brits and your phrases...you crack me up. Here's what I see in Firefox on OS X.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
  4. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    Well that has totally pissed me off now!

    Thanks guys. Does any one know why iWeb does this? Its stupid, it happens quite often after an upload. I checked it on my home machine last night as i knew it was a regular occurance and it did not show. :mad:
     
  5. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    sorry...I don't have any experience with iWeb, and very little experience with web stuff in general. I do know that your site looks good, though, so kudos on that! :)

    Best of luck.
     
  6. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    Not now with the random black lines all over the place. But thanks anyway!
     
  7. amiga macrumors 6502

    amiga

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    London.
  8. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #8
    Thanks for that one. I have noticed on your screeny I have not converted the copyright text into a graphic so it looks crap on PCs :D I'll change it tonight. Did the black lines appear on the homepage?
     
  9. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #9
    after using iWeb extensively on my sites, i think you will have to wait several days.
    who is your ISP?

    its not NTL is it?
     
  10. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #10
    ISP is Blueyonder/Telewest which is basically NTL. Why?

    Usually i just have to keep reuploading to get it to 'clear' the lines.
     
  11. amiga macrumors 6502

    amiga

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    London.
  12. emmett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #12
    check your CSS

    Check your CSS. It looks like you have a 1px border -- border: 1px #000000 none; -- in those areas.

    Emmett
     
  13. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #13

    ok...sometimes the NTL network is cack. they use transparent web proxys that can take up to a week, depending on what you upload, to refresh...pain in the tits.

    a good way of getting the web proxy to clear is to type /? after your URL.

    other than that, its a waiting game, but it will change to normal

    thankfully NTL have got much better lately, but if you are uploading the same files time after time, your gonna get this problem.

    they do it to save them masses of bandwidth.....coontz!
     
  14. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #14
    hang on, theres an INternet Explorer image from a PC up there and it looks perfect..

    strange......defo NOT ntl...apologies
     
  15. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #15
    Yeh thats a different page. It only seems to be doing the lines on the homepage.
     
  16. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #16
    I definitely didnt put it there myself and I dont think iWeb uses CSS per sei.

    :confused:
     
  17. ThunderLounge macrumors 6502

    ThunderLounge

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #17
    So you want to break into being a web designer, using iWeb?
    Then, looking at your keywords it seems like graphic design,
    not web design, is your focus.

    At least, that's what your site is telling me.


    Translation: what's your site really about? Your visitors need to know it. ;)


    As for the line issues, I can't see them. In the frameset or in the actual embedded page.

    Which both look identical, so I'm not sure why the need for frames?

    I do however have the 2006 on a line below and outside the bottom green footer. The rest is ok, but increasing/decreasing the font size of the page doesn't fix it. Also, even though the content is not tall, nor wide, I still have a vertical scrollbar even at a 1024x768 window size. Since there isn't anything to scroll, there shouldn't be one.


    If cache is a big problem with your ISP, then you might want to consider a local set-up of apache (which you should already have). Then you can at least test it out locally, and get it "somewhat right" before actually posting it up. Then, you can always use browsershots.org to check for cross-browser issues as well.
     
  18. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #18

    I didnt say anything about wanting to be a web designer :confused: I am a graphic designer, thats why the keywords relate to graphic design as you have noted.

    My site says exactly what it is about on the very first page so not sure what you mean there either. :confused:

    If you are being 'ironic' use smileys to avoid confusion. Its amazing what those little buggers can do.

    Regarding the 2006 copyright thing I have spotted that it is still text and not a graphic which I will change now to make sure it displays correctly.

    The reason I use frames is to hide the crazy address the website is really stored. If i dont use frames when you go to www.stuartluff.co.uk the address bar changes to http://www.stuartluff.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/stuartluff which is not nice to look at. I am a graphic designer thats why everything has to look perfect. :D

    The scroll bar I will look into it could just be I have the page size a little bit too big. My screen res is 1680x1050 so I have never noticed it.
     
  19. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #19
    Ok it seems that it is iWeb that is the culprit.

    I checked the files before uploading and the black lines were there again. I have since 'exported to folder' (twice) and checked all files, finally it seems to look ok.

    The copyright on the wrong line should not be an issue now and the scroll bar looks like it was caused by having an additional 100px footer below a 100px header and 480px page. So thanks for your help guys. If you wanna check it out again and see if you spot anything else a bit strange then I would much appreciate that too.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page