iWeb "Domain" File transfer.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Pistol Pete, Jul 11, 2006.

  1. Pistol Pete macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #1
    So i copied the domain file to an external to back it up and because I was going to restore my machine.

    I restored my maching restored the domain file and iWeb wont open. I am really bummed because I have 4 website on it as well as my Photo website.

    Any ideas would be lifesaving!

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    If you drag the Domain file to a different location, will iWeb now open? :)
     
  3. Pistol Pete thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #3
    nope it quits unexpectedly...

    thanks for trying.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Excellent. That means it's not a problem with your Domain files so all is not lost. If you open up a new user account, can you open iWeb from there? :)
     
  5. Pistol Pete thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #5
    well irestored my mac as well as ilife 06.

    iweb opens fine when my domain file has nothing to do with it. so the program itself is fine...

    thanks again.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    So you can't open the Domain file from the new user account?
     
  7. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #7
    Is your "short" account name the same as it was? I don't know much about the Domain file myself, but I know that the iTunes files use full paths for their references.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Good point. If it's the very latest release of iWeb (version 1.1.1, I believe) then this shouldn't matter though. :)
     
  9. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #9
    could putting the domain files on another mac, then using iWeb Sites to edit them possibly help?
     
  10. cemorris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    #10
    Did you upgrade your iWeb to the same version as the domain file was saved in? If you saved in 1.1 but are trying to open in 1.0, it will fail.
     
  11. Pistol Pete thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #11
    no it was the latest version before. 1.1.1

    I have not tried another user. I will try that now and see if it works than.

    the user is basicly brand new though because i just restore my computer.

    back to trying.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    By 'restore', do you mean migrate all your settings back? If so, then the new user account might well be very successful. Good luck. :)
     

Share This Page