iWeb Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ChickenSwartz, Nov 6, 2006.

  1. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #1
    I created my web site using my brand new MBP and iWeb then uploaded to my web server. A few days after that, my MBP started acting up, long story short, I got a new one. I didn't bother backing up my website since it is online. Where do I need to save it so that I can open it in iWeb and edit it?
     
  2. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #2
    I'm not entirely sure that iWeb will open up HTML that it's created and be able to work backwards to creating source material for it. You'd probably be in better luck doing it over again...

    I'll check though.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Did you upload it to .Mac or a different web server?
     
  4. ChickenSwartz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #4
    different
     
  5. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #5
    I do the same thing with my website, and I believe there is nothing you can do but to start over. iWeb cannot import HTML.

    You'll have to start making a habit to start backing up the file that iWeb uses for your website.

    HD/Users/TheUser(under which iWeb is being used)/Library/Application Support/iWeb

    There is a file called "Domain" and it contains everything for your iWeb website.
     
  6. ChickenSwartz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #6
    I guess I wasn't aware this existed, or if it did I thought it was HTML. Grrr...oh well.

    I wish there was a "Save" function available on iWeb. I would have done that, known where it was, and noticed it wasn't HTML therefore backed it up.
     
  7. Squiggy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Is there a way to create a site with iWeb without having a .Mac account? All of the commands (ex, New Page, New Site) are disabled.
     
  8. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #8
    It is odd that those are disabled. I don't use .mac and I am able to use those just fine. There is something else wrong and I don't have a clue as to what it is.
     
  9. ChickenSwartz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #9
    When I open iWeb without having previously saved a webpage the template chooser drops down. When it is open all those are disabled. If I choose a template they come back.
     
  10. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #10
    there is a save function in iweb, i'm not entirely sure where it's saved tho...

    it could be because you are in the process of creating a new page or whatever... kinda like if you use page, and click new document, and when the menu comes out, you can't do another new document until you do something with the previous one.... i think
     
  11. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #11
    I checked it out and you are definitely right. You just have to select the first template page to get going.
     
  12. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #12
    It is saved as an iWeb file called "Domain" located in...

    HD/Users/"UserName"/Library/Application Support/iWeb

    It is one file you need to remember to back up along all your other files because you cannot import HTML back into iWeb. If you loose this file you loose your whole website.
     
  13. Squiggy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I deleted all files that referenced iWeb and then reinstalled it with Pacifist. I can now use iWeb, which has the superb Apple user-interface. :)
     
  14. dumshiet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #14
    sorry for bumping an old thread, but how do you choose a template? when i open up iweb it doesnt ask me anything. it just shows the iweb main window and everything is disabled, even file > new page :(
     
  15. emtp6811 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Over here
    #15
    Try file > new site
    The template viewer will pop up. Choose the the theme you like from the left panel, then one of the pages from the right panel. This will start a website for you to construct. You can add more pages to your site by going to file > new page. This will bring up the same template viewer, so that the new page you are adding to your site can match or be a totally different theme.

    Once you are working in a page, use the inspector window to help you make changes. I keep this open at all times when I am in iWeb.

    While I am in the process of creating a new site, I simply publish to a folder (file > publish to a folder...) until it is finished and ready to be published on a server. Mine save to ~/My Sites/[name of blog]. In the inspector, under the "Link" tab, I have unchecked "make all hyperlinks inactive". This way, I can check out my webpage by accessing it from ~/My Sites/[name of blog] and I can navigate it just like I would on the internet.
     
  16. dumshiet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #16
    thanks for the response, however, my problem still resides in me being unable to make a new page by going to file > new, since the selections are greyed out. when i open iweb and click file, this is what i see:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. dumshiet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006

Share This Page