iWork causing serious problems with Word

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by elissa, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. elissa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    #1
    I installed iWork, and it works just fine. However, now I cannot open Word, even if iWork isn't open. Everything freezes up, and I just get the endless spinning rainbow. Force quit won't open, and the dock is unresponsive. It stops when I shut off my computer, but I still need to use Word!

    Anyone else have this problem, or know how to fix it?



    ps. I'm running 10.3.9. I have a copy of 10.4 but have not yet installed it.
     
  2. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #2
    Probably has nothing to do with iWork. You can try repairing permissions with Disk Utility, trashing the Word preferences file, and finally reinstalling Word (in that order) to see if that fixes it.
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Everything is fine here. Which version of Word are you using? Which version of Pages?
     
  4. elissa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    #4
    Word (Office) 2004, Pages 1/Keynote 2

    I ran Disk Utility and repaired the permissions, and I deleted the Word preferences, but it's still a problem. I haven't yet had the time to reinstall Office, but when I do, I'm also going to update to 10.4. Hopefully that'll catch whatever's the problem.
     
  5. asherman13 macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #5
    it could be an issue with iwork in that you might not have the very latest update for pages and keynote 2 installed. maybe try running a software update?

    btw, why do you HAVE to use word?
     
  6. elissa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    #6
    Because Pages just doesn't cut it for academic papers. I've uninstalled iWork and will run the updater when I reinstall everything.
     

Share This Page