iWork Pages '08 - Tables flowing across pages

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by keltron, Sep 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I created a table with three columns and lots of info in the first column. I need it to continue to page 2, but it won't. Instead, all of the info that should continue to page 2 simply disappears. How do I make the table extend to page 2?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #2
    Probably your table is set to be floating instead of inline. This setting can be found in the Inspector, on the text wrap tab. Then you will probably want to set a header row in the table tab so it appears at the top of each page.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for your response! But it's already set to inline text. I've gone through the inspector menu and I can't find anything to fix this. Any other ideas?
     
  4. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #4
    Inline text? The entire table is what needs to be set as inline. Make sure the table is selected (the handles around the outside borders must be showing) before selecting inline from the Inspector. I'm nearly 100% certain that this is your problem since AFAIK, the only way to see the issue you report is if the table is set to float.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington/Lake Morton, WA, USA
    #5
    A table will break at a row but, if your table has only one row & that row is too big to fit on a single page, the remainder will "disappear" below the bottom of a page. The only way around it is to use a bigger paper size, shrink the contents of the row or split the row so that it breaks at the bottom of the page.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #6
    I've got a somewhat similar question. I'm using a resume template and am having trouble with spacing of lists, text wrapping and making sure everything is in line, etc. I'm new to Pages and have tried watching some of the tutorials, what's the best way to figure this stuff out?

    Also, in the resume template, it's got all the info already in a box. What if I want to move the spacing of this box? It's not like a normal text box, I can't figure out how to click and move it?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, I had the table selected when I chose 'inline' so that wasn't the issue. I ended up just having to start a new row on each page and split the information between several rows. Kind of a hassle, but oh well.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #8
    That should absolutely not be necessary. I can't figure out how you had this problem.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #9
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #10
    FYI, in iWork '09, I found that my document needs to be in "word processing" mode instead of "page layout" mode *and* your table needs to be inline inside a text box that spans pages in order for the table to also span pages.

    Unfortunately, when working with imported MS word documents whose tables span multiple pages, that seems to mean having to create a new document in word processing mode with a text box, and then copying/pasting the table into the new text area.

    Hope that helps.
     

Share This Page