Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

caribiner23

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 15, 2005
Chicago
I am a newbie to Pages, and I've run across a problem that is really aggravating because it should not be rocket science... but it seems to be, at least for me.

Let's suppose you're writing a letter and it only takes up two paragraphs. You have about a third of the page as white space, which means that everything below your text, to the bottom of the page, is blank.

To make it look presentable, you want to center the text on the page so there is equal white space above and below it.

In Word for Windows, you select File --> Page Setup --> Layout --> Vertical Alignment and choose "Center." Done.

How in the world do you do this Pages? I've scoured the manual and online help and can find nothing on this.

Thanks in advance!

DXoverDY

macrumors 6502a
Apr 19, 2005
caribiner23 said:
I am a newbie to Pages, and I've run across a problem that is really aggravating because it should not be rocket science... but it seems to be, at least for me.

Let's suppose you're writing a letter and it only takes up two paragraphs. You have about a third of the page as white space, which means that everything below your text, to the bottom of the page, is blank.

To make it look presentable, you want to center the text on the page so there is equal white space above and below it.

In Word for Windows, you select File --> Page Setup --> Layout --> Vertical Alignment and choose "Center." Done.

How in the world do you do this Pages? I've scoured the manual and online help and can find nothing on this.

Thanks in advance!

well... i can do it by loading up the Inspector... then clicking the Text panel... and then adjusting the first paragraph by using the "Before Paragraph" setting...

NOTE: there may be a better way of doing this.. but uh.. having only used pages for like 5 minutes. that's my best answer :p