Jaguar Erase & Install Question

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by RBMaraman, Oct 2, 2002.

  1. macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #1
    Hi everyone. I'm running Jaguar (10.2.1) on a 500mhz iBook with 256Mb of RAM. I purchased it in August of 2001, so it also has 9.2.2 installed. I NEVER use OS 9, and I want to perform an erase and install of Jaguar to reclaim hard drive space and increase my speed. I will install classic (just in case I ever need it), but my question is this: Do I use the iBook Software Install CD to reinstall applications such as AppleWorks once I have performed the erase and install? I don't have a ton of programs I have to install, and since Jaguar includes all the other programs I mainly use, I believe AppleWorks is the only one I will have to pull off the CD. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #2
    Can't you find AppleWorks on Apple's website for free?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #3
    The updater is available for free, but you already have to have the version installed on your computer to run the updater.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #4
    classic

    I think you need to have 9 installed for classic to work... I'm going to wipe out 9 the next time I to a clean install of OS X. I just did an upgrade to 10.2 due to time constrants... and I just cant afford to be down right now.

    As for the apps on the install CD... It used to be that Apple had a seperate CD with installers for the Apps that you wanted to pull off.. I dont know anymore if you can just pull them off. I think that there are installers for them in the CDs.. you just have to look for them. Its been a long time since I tried to do that. My Rev-A iMac was my last Mac that came with any extra stuff thats not part of the OS or is free download.

    -evildead
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #5
    Re: classic

    The only way you can have classic without stand-alone OS9 is if you have the restore disk from one of the new machines. The new machines have a special disc that has restore for OS X and Classic on it and a disk for installing OSX but no install for OS 9.

    As for AppleWorks, good question, I was pretty sure that it was installed by the restore discs.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #6
    The restore cd's contain the programs. As to wether or not you can install them individually I'm at a loss. I've never needed to do it.
     
  7. Lz0
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #7
    You can't install individual apps from the restore CD's, but you should have got a CD called "Applications" with your Mac along with a OS9 and OSX and the Software Restore discs.

    Appleworks should be on the "Applications" CD.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #8
    Thanks guys!

    Thanks for you answers. I found Appleworks on the Applications CD, and I have everything running just fine. I decided not to install classic or OS 9 at all, mainly because I never use any applications that require its usage. Once again, thanks for answer my question!
     

Share This Page