Jailbreak 3G, 4.2.1 , 05.15.04 w/o updating the baseband

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dreamingoflions, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. dreamingoflions
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #1
    Hi all!

    I was wondering if I can jailbreak & unlock a Iphone 3G, Version 4.2.1 (8C148), and baseband 05.15.04 without upgrading the baseband?

    I only find instructions but I have used Pwnage tool for my other phone. Is it possible to use Pwnage tool for this version and if do you have instructions?

    Any advice is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. moonman239
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #2
    Funny. I just jailbroke an iPhone 3G with the latest redsn0w and now am just trying to install Cydia. Anyways, I think you might be able to use PwnageTool.
     
  3. dreamingoflions
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #3
    Interesting! How did you do it?

    Because I tried redsnow for the last few hours and it didn't work. I was using an iPad baseband to install cydia but always got stuck in recovery mode or got an unexpected error. I'm pretty certain that I put it into DFU mode correctly as its not my first time jailbreaking a phone bit for some reason I cannot figure out the 3G....
     
  4. dhlizard
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Why would you want to preserve that baseband. It cannot be software or hardware unlocked.
     
  5. dreamingoflions
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #5
    I know but I am not aware of any other way :( ?

    What else can I use?
     
  6. dhlizard
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Jailbreak it with Redsn0w
    Go to iClarifed.com for a tutorial, you will have to look back in the list since a 3G on 4.2.1 is an older configuration.
     
  7. dreamingoflions
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #7
    Been trying it this way http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=12947&laid=

    but was just curious if there was another way then changing to the ipad baseband.
     
  8. Sine Qua Non
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #8
    Have you looked into an official unlock from the carrier?
     
  9. dreamingoflions
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #9
    does at&t do that nowadays?
     
  10. Sine Qua Non
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #10
    Yes, AT&T is unlocking off-contract iPhones now. Search around for details.
     

Share This Page