iPad Jailbroke ipad 3, stuck at apple logo screen?!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by GUCCIMAN, May 30, 2012.

  1. GUCCIMAN, May 30, 2012
    Last edited: May 30, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #1
    Hi everyone, So i'm kinda panicking...

    i jailbroke my ipad using absinthe and it worked great for a few days.. until just now i installed something off cydia and it made my ipad stuck on the apple logo when i try and restart...

    basically i can't access my ipad at all, i plug it in and try to restore, itunes says it can't locate ipad after the package is validated or whatever..

    i try and enter it into DFU... plug it into itunes and i get 1600 error..

    what can i do :(

    i used tinyumbrella to try and enter/exit recovery too no dice :( :( :(
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    #2
    Be carefully installing things from cydia , it can brick your iPad if you don't do the things correctly
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #3
    once it's bricked.. is that SOL?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    #4
    Go to warranty , if iTunes don't recognize ... I think you will not be able to restore
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #5
    when i plug it into my itunes, it under the area where it shows how much space you use it accounts for the space i used in my device, but its not in segments or broken up, its just one yellow bar of used, and another color of unuse :/

    if i bring it to apple, would they know i jail broke it?
    And it's already been past 14/15 days since i bought the ipad, do i still have warranty?
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    You have warranty for a year. Two if you buy Applecare +. If it's bricked and they can't get it to come up they'll probably never know it's jb'ed, but always keep in mind (and be sure to neglect to mention when taking in for service ) that jailbreaking does indeed void the warranty
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #7
    is there anything i could do to wipe the ipad 3? (besides restore in itunes)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    corner starbucks
    #8
    with everything you've said you tried i doubt that you'll be able to wipe it, just take it in to apple and show them it's stuck on the logo screen, see what they'll do for you
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    Try DFU and plugging into iTunes again. 1600 error is not terminal, iti s usually a temporary issue. Try another USB port for example.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3965441?start=0&tstart=0
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #10
    If u have windows, try to restore it from windows. Works for me :)
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Lebanon
  12. macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
  13. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #13
    Its is 99.999% impossible to brick a device.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #14
    This

    Worst case scenario, you'll have to restore and re-jailbreak. If you can't restore, look up the itunes error online and see how to fix it.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #15
    Try this. Start with you iPad powered on and unplugged from your computer.

    1) Press and hold both the power and the home button until the screen goes black.

    2) Launch iTunes

    3) Connect the iPad to the computer

    4) When the iPad appears in iTunes select it and press the restore button

    This should get you started with the restore process.

    Your iPad is not "bricked". It's basically impossible to do that. If you can't restore it on your computer, try another computer that hasn't jailbroken a device in the past. Sometimes the hosts file gets messed up and causes issues restoring firmware.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #16
    Is that the 1st time you hav used TinyUmbrella?
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    dieburnbot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #17
    Hold Volume Up while it boots.

    That will bypass mobile substrate and and hopefully let you get in with the bad extension disabled.
     
  18. macrumors G4

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    #19
    You could download iexplorer and delete the files from the package u installed. I had to do this once on an old iPod touch
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #20
    dude thanks

    but now how do i load up my extentions so i can locate the bad one im able to launch cydia and respring without issue but i just would like back my things
     
  21. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #21
    in safe-mode install sbsettings

    in SBsettings go to more/mobile substrate Addons

    disable all addons,
    now restart phone normally

    again go in to sbesettings more/m s a
    1 by 1 turn on the addons till you find the bad 1

    when you have found it, go into safe mode again, turn it on and tahn delete it
     
  22. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #22
    Start with removing the last Cydia hack you installed before it failed to boot.
     

Share This Page