Jammin With GarageBand

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jazzman45, Oct 8, 2004.

  1. jazzman45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    lawrence, ks
    #1
    So if you're completely bored and have a few instruments lying around, try this stupid trick!

    Set up a couple extra users on yer computer. Start up garageband on each one and there you go, multiple live inputs...can't record but hey, it's a fun little ditty to try out.

    -Tyler
     
  2. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #2
    I don't understand. So if you can't record, why go into the computer in the first place. can't you just jam?
     
  3. jazzman45 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    lawrence, ks
    #3
    because you can use the garageband instruments. ie i use a set up yamaha midi drums and use the built-in garageband kits. so you could play guitar and bass w/ effects and the drums all through your mac. if you're in a dorm, this is great because you can keep the noise down a bit.

    -tyler
     
  4. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #4
    Oh cool. I don't use GarageBand, so I don't know- So the app allows you to use live effects/distortion, etc. when you plug your guitar in? For instance, I can just plug in my guitar and use the computer as an amp? If so, I will be getting this asap.
     
  5. jazzman45 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    lawrence, ks
    #5
    yeah! there's a bunch of effects and stuff. i just use my iMac for an amp now.
     

Share This Page