java application

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Jbear, Jun 4, 2002.

  1. Jbear macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    If anyone knows anything about getting java apps to run in os X I would very much appreciate some advice. What Im trying to accomplish is getting my mac running os x to play nice with our Netware 5.1 servers (in hopes of ridding the district of peecees once and for all). I installed the native file access pack from Novell on our servers and can now mount and view all netware volumes simply by typing in the server name or IP address in the >GO>Connect to server bar. Step one complete, can access files. The final thing I need to do is to use the ConsoleOne program to administer the novell network. This program is supposedly a 100% pure Java application, but I cant seem to open it in os x. When I try, It says: The jar file "ConsoleOne.jar" couldn't be launched. It probably doesn't contain a "Main-Class" definition in the manifest. To be able to launch this jar, you will need to add one.
    Could anyone possibly shed some light on what this means? I'd really appreciate the help. If I can get this to work, It would be a key deciding factor on our next purchase of computers (currently have 0 mac in entire school district :( ) Thanks guys.
     
  2. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I can probably help you out, but I need some more information.

    What this sounds like to me is a java application that uses a .bat file or a shell script to run on other systems. The idea is to package all of the code in a .jar file and then start the code by naming a class with a main method inside of the .bat file or shell script.

    What this means is that you cannot just double-click on the .jar file to start the program. Instead, you need to launch the program by naming the class from the commandline. The command would look something like this:

    %java -classpath "ConsoleOne.jar" novell.consoleone.ConsoleOne

    This assumes that the class is named ConsoleOne and is in the package novell.consoleone. You could put this command in a shell script andjust run the shell script to start the program.

    What you need to do is find out what the main class for the ConsoleOne program is and which package it is in. It is likely that Novell included a shell script of .bat file with the .jar file with all of the necessary information in it. If not, the information is more than likely available on their website.

    Taft
     
  3. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    Thanks for the help. Although it may be way over my head at this time (dont know the first thing about java at this point) I will see what I can do.
     
  4. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    You might try to get the Solaris version of ConsoleOne and run the installer that comes with Solaris. Since they don't provide different versions of the program for Solaris on Sparc and Solaris on x86, its probably just a shell script that does the installation. So its possible that the installer would work just fine on OS X. Its also possible that the installer would crash and burn, so don't get your hopes up.

    Here are the instructions they give for running the installer on Solaris. (You'll ned to run the program as ./c1-install rather than c1-install as they have listed here).

    1)If previous versions of ConsoleOne and eDirectory are running on the Solaris computer where you will install ConsoleOne, shut them down and uninstall them completely (remove all associated files).
    2)Download the ConsoleOne package to a temporary location.
    3)Unpack the file you just downloaded. For example: tar xf c1sol.tar
    4)Change to the ConsoleOne/solaris directory that was created by unpacking the download file.
    5)Run the ConsoleOne installation program by entering c1-install at the system prompt. Follow the prompts to complete the installation.

    Taft
     
  5. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
  6. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Well, no luck with the solaris installation. It starts the install, and asks what language to install and such, then give a slew of command not found messages. Was worth a try, thanks for the suggestion. I am still trying to figure out the class names and such for console to try it that way.
     
  7. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    When I do try to run the program through the terminal, I typed %java -classpath as suggested, but if I type this I immediately said too many arguments. %java <enter> says no job. I dont know. Hopefully I will find something. Thanks Taft.
     
  8. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    Could you try sending me the /usr/ConsoleOne/bin/ConsoleOne that comes with the Linux distribution?? You might have to rename it to a .txt extension. I'm at work, or I'd try this stuff myself.

    I'm betting that the ConsoleOne app in the bin directory is just a shell script. If it actually is a symbolic link to another file, could you send me the other file. You can do an 'ls -l' on the command line to figure out if the file is a symbolic link or not. Also, you can do a 'file ConsoleOne' to see if its a shell script.

    This is a heck of a lot more interesting than work.

    Taft
     
  9. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    Im redownloading the linux version of c1 right now. I had downloaded and tried the solaris version earlier, but already trashed it. Will attempt to upload it when it is done.
     
  10. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    tatf - Im a little confused on what you want me to send you. The linux distro will not install on my mac, so there is no /usr/consoleone/bin directory. There is only the install directory that was extracted at download. I can send you the consoleone.jar file that is sittiing on the netware server if thats what you want. Could you specify what file I should be looking for?
     
  11. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    I was assuming that you got the ConsoleOne.jar file from an installed distribution of the application on another system. Is that correct?? If so, what I'm looking for is the file you run as the application on another system.

    On a linux distribution this would be the bin/ConsoleOne file. On a windows distribution, it would be somewhere else (though I couldn't get it to install on my machine at work). These files should give some insight into what you need to do.

    In the meantime, send me the jar file. You again may have to rename it to another extension. I might be able to find the main class to call to start the program.

    Taft
     
  12. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    you must have been assuming I had it working on a linux box, I wish.
    Just so you know, the executable path where the file resides is:
    SYS:\public\mgmt\consoleone\consoleone.jar where sys is the sys: volume of the netware server. I would upload it, but it says its too big (584k). Is there another way you want me to get it to you?
     
  13. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    I just sent my work e-mail address to the e-mail address you have listed with MacRumors.

    Taft
     
  14. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
    Also, are there any other files in the SYS:\public\mgmt\consoleone\ directory?? There may be some startup scripts...

    Taft
     
  15. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #15
    Upon further inspection, I've determined that, while it should be possible, I can't do it with the tools I have available. Unless we can get a fully installed version of the Solaris or Linux application, I'm just guessing at how the Java app must be initiallized. And unfortunately, I can't get either to install or even unpack on my machine at home.

    If you can somehow get a full install for Solaris or Linux, I might be able to help you further. I suggest asking Novell if they have a OS X version in the works.

    Sorry I can't be of any more help.

    Taft
     
  16. Jbear thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    Thanks for all you help. I have already posted on the novell site and are waiting for a response. I have set up a linux box to try to install the linux version for you, but I am having trouble getting the nic to work in it (old isa intel etherexpress 10+). So, I will work on that and see what novell has to say about it. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page