Java Compatibility with Macs Question . . . HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by BigJayhawk, Sep 11, 2003.

  1. BigJayhawk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    i have a friend who owns a Trust Company that has a website (click here) that does not seem to work on Safari or the latest MSIE. The Java on the Left Side should make rollover menus that pop out. Although Java is supposedly cross-platform, the rollover menus work in Windows but not on the Mac.

    He has a client that is a Mac User that is getting dismayed over not being able to fully access the financial aspects of the site (rather important).

    This friend of mine has always had top of the line Dells but has been intrigued by my Macs and their stability and ease of use. I'm hoping this is fixable so it doesn't stand as a reason not to switch on his next purchase.

    I figured the members of MacRumors may be up for this challenge.

    Is there a way to check the site and see if maybe there is a simple command or something that is not properly Java Compliant??? I'm going to turn the site into Apple as well. It will be interesting to see who can fix this problem the fastest! :D
     
  2. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #2
    First, since many get this wrong, are we talking Jva or Javascript? Secondly, is he using MS tools to develope the code? If so, he has more then likely fallen victim to many of the MS extensions to both Java and Javascript that only work on Windows. Of course, the result you are seeing is exactly what MS wants.
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    The Java applet on the left doesn't respond to any stimuli I gave it while running in Camino.

    What I can see is that the page was created with FrontPage 3.0 and that makes me wonder if this is a MS Visual J++ non-compliant applet. Since there was an injunction (or should I say in-junk-tion) against MS Visual J++, no one should be producing anything with it, other than a fire perhaps.
     
  4. BigJayhawk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Frontpage

    I did find out that he's using Frontpage and the Windows extensions that are with it so that's obviously the problem.

    Does anyone know if he can get/buy another web design program that can load his code and debug it to work better (be more compliant)?

    Any help would be much appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
  5. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #6
    Re: Frontpage

    Anything not produced my MS? Seriously. I don't have direct experience, but I think the Macromedia tools are stardards-based, cross-platform tools. I'm sure someone else here has better info.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    The trouble with the alternatives (GoLive, DreamWeaver, Freeway) is that none of them have the neat little packages (non-standard but time-saving) that FrontPage has.

    I've used both GoLive (mainly) and DreamWeaver and they're both great products. Someone will have to search for or create Java Applets to replace those FrontPage add-ons.
     
  7. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #8
    Well, I think that the easiest thing to do, (and should have been done in the first place) is put text links at the bottom of the site that reflect the java menu links or a site map page. This sould always be done on any website using java, becuase some people turn java off, or in your case, doesn't work correctly. I know this doesn't help you now after the fact, but it would be an easy fix, at least on the index page.
     
  8. Santiago macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    #9
    Why does your friend feel the need to use a Java applet to provide a simple menu of links to other pages on his site? Plain HTML will do the job perfectly well. Sliding menus and such, which are generally a bad idea anyway, can be impemented with javascript.
     

Share This Page