Java

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hui__lim, Apr 30, 2003.

1. hui__lim macrumors regular

I'm a computer science under graduate and am learning Java at the moment. Can anyone recommend any decent Java programming software (preferably freeware but if its an excellent Java writting software, I don't mind parting with my cash. Currently, I'm using CodeGuide by OmniCore and I think its a brilliant piece of software with colour coding (a must have feature, and highlights mistakes that you have done, much like spelling mistakes but Java mistakes)
    Thanks in advance!!!

2. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

Catfish_Man

Eclipse all the way. It's ugly and slow, but damn does it kick ass. Real time syntax checking, nice debugger, refactoring tools (<-- spiffy), autocorrect, premade templates for bunches of stuff, etc...

3. lmalave macrumors 68000

lmalave

For free Java editors I still like Emacs. It does syntax highlighting, brace matching, etc. You can also download the JDE development environment for Emacs, which adds a debugger, etc., but I don't use it.

4. lmalave macrumors 68000

lmalave

Hmm, I'll check it out. I'm still looking for a Java IDE for the Mac that's as good as Visual Cafe for Windows.

5. NavyIntel007 macrumors 65816

NavyIntel007

6. hui__lim thread starter macrumors regular

Can you please post the webpage for eclipse, I went to google and searched it and the result i came up with was an old version that didnt work with OSX. Cheers!

7. sageenos macrumors member

Project Builder or Hydra

Project Builder is a very nice IDE and it handles java well. It packages all your classes and whatnot into jar files, which is pretty nice.

But, if you're more of a minimalist, I would definitely recommend Hydra and Terminal. Just code in Hydra then compile on the command line with javac.

CodeGuide sounds like a good piece of software though. I would just try out whatever IDE's you find and choose what seems best.

8. evildead macrumors 65816