Javascript + dropdown menu + frames = big headache...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Leareth, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. Leareth macrumors 68000

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #1
    Hi guys here is a tricky one.

    I am trying to create a website with drop down menus. with the drop down menu being the part of the navigation bar on the top frame that then displays in the bottom frame. I want it to be as simple as possible so to update the navigation bar requires updating only one file. I am trying to avoid using CSS.
    And the site needs to work in IE, Firefox, Safari, Opera.
    Any hints on how to do this?
    I can do the drop down menus no problem , I can do the target frames no problem , I cant get the drop down menus to work in frames :confused: :confused: :confused:

    Please help...
     
  2. xelterran macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    #2
    Why avoid using css? You could do something simple with php like this to manage the site.
     
  3. ValGor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #3
    Outside of saying that frames are bad idea in general - here is some solution you might whant to look at:

    http://www.milonic.com/frames/

    Have fun.

    Val
     
  4. Leareth thread starter macrumors 68000

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4
    Hmm thought about that but server does not support it.
    I cant change the server..:mad:
     
  5. Leareth thread starter macrumors 68000

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #5
    Yeah seen this requires you to pay and/link back to their site as well.
    :(
    the idea is there but need all the parts... grrr
     
  6. supremedesigner macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    #6
    Fireworks

    I would say try to use with Macromedia Fireworks that have simple dropdown menu. No coding or CSS required.
     

Share This Page