Jesus... 1gb kernel task after restart...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by blow45, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #1
    On a 2.3ghz 2011 mac mini...

    Even for lion's standards (generally very low) this is atrocious...

    What on earth is happening?

    fiy: I killed simbl, restarted without it and it's still the same s... state
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Try sorting by CPU in descending order (highest values on top) and post another screen shot.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #3
    Did you notice this after you recently upgraded to 16GB?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #4
    yup? :) Do you have any insight as to why this might be happening? Why would kernel task double itself over a ram upgrade?
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #5
    enter this command in the terminal:

    kextstat | grep -v com.apple

    It shows what 3rd party kernel extensions are installed.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #6
    The kernel has to keep track of memory pages. It's only expected that it grows in size when you increase the amount of memory available to your system.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #7
    yeah but to 1.1gb?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #8
    On my machine with 8GB RAM kernel_task starts out around 500MB, quickly goes to 700MB just using Safari and Mail, and after a days work sits around 1GB. I only have Air Display's kexts loaded. So, I'm guessing what you're seeing is normal with 16GB RAM.

    Did the kext command show any 3rd party extensions that could be contributing?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #9
    It's my office mac, I ll check it tomorrow. :)
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #10
    I don't know specifically, but the gist is that Lion takes more if you have more. The same thing happened to me when I installed 16GB RAM.
     

Share This Page