Jinkies! Acquisition is written in Java!!

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by jamdr, Apr 16, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    jamdr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    If there's one app out there (Apple and non-Apple alike) that makes me think "Aqua GUI" it's Acquisition. Much to my surprise, I learned today that it's programmed in Java! I never even noticed--it always seemed like a lean, 100% native app to me. This is terrific, and great news for Java developers on OS X. Dave must use Cocoa-Java to accomplish this feat, which I've only heard bad things about. But now I've been inspired to give it a try and build a Cocoa GUI for one of my simple Swing apps. I would be more than willing to put a little extra effort into developing a Cocoa front-end for an otherwise cross-platform Java app if it meant greater acceptance by OS X users (who generally hold a negative view of Java, from what I've seen). Anyone have any comments on this?
     
  2. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    i love the look and feel and usablity of Aquasition, just hate the pop ups and annoying pleads to get my money, i would probably donate if it were not so annoying

    good luck and be sure to share your app with all of us here!!
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    #3
    That's the great thing about Cocoa - it lets Java, which would be a fantastic language if its GUI options weren't complete trash, have a genuinely usable front-end. My own development work is probably going to be C#/Mono and Cocoa-Java from here on out.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Jolix

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #4
    Actually Acquisition is coded in Cocoa/Objective-C. It uses the limewire core for all of the p2p networking, which is java. It launches the core with NSTask and reads the io with stdin/stdout. So it's actually 2 processes, Acquisition and AcquisitionCore(limewire).
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #5
    Has anyone else's Acquisition code stopped working? I upgraded to Tiger
    on friday, everything went fine, then this morning my code stopped working.
    I've sent an email to the developer (Dave, I think) but emails never get
    answered. Anybody else effected?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    asif786

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #6
    have you upgraded to Java 1.5? if you have, i believe there's known issues with acquisition and java 1.5..
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    #7
    It's cocoa, not java.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #8
    No, I'm still using Java 1.4.2...the Java 1.5 is a standalone installer, not available via software update? It must be a problem with my reg code then...hmm. Cheers!
     

Share This Page