Joining a Gym(few questions)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Patmian212, Dec 13, 2005.

1. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

Apr 11, 2004
    Hey all,
    I am 16 and pretty much over weight, I want to lose 35lbs. I have never done any streneous sports before(some rugby and soccer). Now I am aware I need to do cardio such as the treadmill and bike to lose wieght but I also want to be way more muscular in the upper body(abs, pecs etc) lower body is no problem my legs are "strong like bull"(I can do 90KG sets easily). What I want to know is how long and what things should I do(machines/exercises)(cant afford trainer to give me a program)? Also the gym offers Muay Tai, which seems cool but is it a good idea?
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

Oct 11, 2004
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    Work on the cardio first, then when you are into a good groove with that, ask the trainer at the gym to take you around the equipment and show you the effective and safe way to use it, and establish a weight/reps regimen.
  3. MacAztec macrumors 68040

Oct 28, 2001
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Well, before you hit the gym, you need to fix your eating habits. I suggest eating 50% carbs, 35% protein, and 15% fat ratio to lose weight. You should be eating a lot of fiber, and water foods (celery, lettuce, etc.)

You need to burn more calories than you take in per day. I think that once you lose the fat, then you can start toning and getting defined.
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Apr 3, 2004
    Adelaide, Australia
    Don't start too hot. I've seen quite a few "larger" friends try out a strenuous routine and end up burning themselves out after a few weeks. Slowly work yourself into it. Good luck with it. :)
  5. rickvanr macrumors 68040

Apr 10, 2002
    See if the gym has a spin class. Out of anything I've ever done, the spin class killed me, but in a good way.
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

Nov 7, 2003