Jumping Ship

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by VanMac, May 28, 2005.

1. VanMac macrumors 6502a

May 26, 2005
    Rampaging Tokyo
    Hey All.

So, I've been shopping for a Mac for almost 5 years now (yes...slow to move). I do software development, so compatibilty was a concern. With OSX however, I'm fully sold. I also have 4 wintel :eek: computers in the house, so if I ever have to do something, I can.

I have an older Dell 7500 laptop that I will be farming out to my son(9). I would like to replace this with a PB of some sort. Weight is not an issue, as anything will be lighter then this pig I've been lugging around (weighs 9.4lbs on my digital scale...way more with power brick and case).

I like the idea of a 12", but think I might be frustrated by screen realestate, as well an no lighted keyboard. I'm often fiddling around late at night in front of the TV with lights off, and I cant see the keys on my dell.

15" PB seems very nice. I've been in the new Apple Store at Yorkdale mall (I'm from Ontario Canada). I was pretty sure that this would be the one for me, as I figured the 17" looked like a bit of a monster. The 15" looks nicely proportioned, and way lighter then my dell. Very nice machine.

Spent some time with the 17" just for kicks, and I was really impressed. The screen is wonderful. Its like I just fell right into it. Wasnt aware of anything else in my peripheral vision. It was awesome. Went back to the 15", and it seemed like a laptop....hard to explain, but then back to the 17", and I was in 'mac world'. :)

Anywho, just kinda rambling on here. I'm sure I will be happy with any one of the three. Just looking for some real world experiences out there that I can factor into the equation. I'm aware of the WWDC, and I will be waiting till then before I make any purchase decisions.

I will be using this PB for email, surfing, documents, etc.