Just bought a refurbished dual 867 G4 from Apple. Bad luck?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Impreza, Mar 22, 2003.

1. Impreza macrumors member

Impreza

I've heard around this forum that it's a good way to get a Mac at a great price. I've never personally owned a Mac before, but I have been using them at school and at one of my jobs for the past 4-5 years since the beige PowerPC G3 machines came out. However, I think I got stuck with a bad machine, which is hard to fathom considering it's been "refurbished". I thought Apple would fix the issues with that system so it would be in "as good as new" condition. Don't get me wrong, this DP PowerMac is pretty awesome....when things aren't crashing all the time.

I've only used the system for oh...2 days. Installed AIM and Mozilla just to get my feet wet. So far, MSIE, AIM, and Mozilla has crashed on me. It sucks to be in the middle of a huge post on a message board or in the middle of doing something and the damned thing just quits. The computer froze a few times in that span. I've had the keyboard and mouse (Apple Pro equipment) go dead on me a couple times. Here's the icing on the cake, I've had not one, not two, not even three, but about four or more kernal panics. Plus I've had a few scares where the grey start up screen would be partially scrambled and/or it would be stuck on that screen. Also, one time, the computer automatically restarted by itself.....while it was starting up. This is all in the span of two days folks.

I'm really getting discouraged and it sucks that I might have to return the machine cuz I need it for art school. Has anyone had THIS many problems with a refurbished Mac straight from Apple? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm going to be calling Apple Care in the morning. I swear, this machine has really ruined my weekend and I just got it yesterday.

2. hesdeadjim macrumors regular

Re: Just bought a refurbished dual 867 G4 from Apple. Bad luck?