Just bought a ton of RAM for my macs :)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by berkleeboy210, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. berkleeboy210 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #1
    Hi Gang,

    Just purchased a 2gb Chip for my G5 and a 1gb Chip for my PB. they'll be here tomorrow.

    I ordered from www.macsales.com

    has anyone had experience with their RAM?

    Also for the RAM for the G5 it said 2gb (1gb Matched Pair) What does that mean?

    Thanks!
     
  2. RJP31484 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
    That just means that you are being shipped 2 1gb sticks of RAM. The G5 powermacs require you to install matching pairs of RAM instead of just one stick. In other words, if you wanted to install only 512 mb of RAM, you would need to install 2 identical 256mb sticks or 4 identical 128mb sticks.
     
  3. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #3
    I think you'll find there is a good consensus on Macsales. Even getting their stuff shipped to Australia is considered a good move - from the guys here who have ordered RAM I've heard some great feedback. The prices are still amazingly competitive even with delivery across the otherside of the world to another hemisphere.

    And this current rash of people gigging out their powerbooks is making me jealous :eek:. I'm still on stock 512 until I can afford some more. I just have to pretend my machine is fast - ignorance is bliss...ignorance is bliss....:D
     
  4. Eluon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #4

    reminding himself that his 256 on his iBook is blazing fast too. what a dream to have atleast 512 on her.
     
  5. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #5
    On the Familie's iMac G5 We had 256mb Stock Model (the 20"1.8 G5) It was dreadfully slow.

    Popped a 512 stick in, and presto, it's flyin.

    No more complaints from the Father that the computer is too slow. I'm the one that's called when computer problems hit home.
     
  6. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #6
    Wow

    Ordered an hour ago and it's already shipped. :)
     
  7. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #7
    Installing RAM in your G5 is easy, but takes rather firm pressure to
    get it all the way into the keepers.

    Make sure you follow anti-static procedure with your machine off.


    When you open up your chassis and slide out the fan assembly,
    you'll see how your stock RAM is split
    half and half on either side of your motherboard.

    Each new stick is placed the same way, 1 slot down
    on either side.

    Make sure your keepers have snapped all the way shut and test boot
    Open your system profiler and verify that your RAM is now showing and
    TAH DAH, your G5 is now officially a screamer. :D
     
  8. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #8
    Thanks for the Instructions. Both my PB and PM will be very happy tomorrow when i throw a lot of ram in them.
     
  9. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #9
    Yes, they should both be flying. Good luck! ;)
     
  10. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #10
    just installed in the pb, all is fine. will install in the pm after lunch.
     

Share This Page