Just bought Intel iMac...Question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by AJ Muni, Jan 14, 2006.

  1. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    Yea i was in the apple store in miami, and as i was about to pay for a g5 17"...the lady said "we just recieved the intel's"...so i was lucky enough to get one, (they all sold out within the hour) and i also saved $80 cuz i had the new ilife box in my hand....ANYHOW..i have a powerbook, and currently have no network setup, but i wanna transfer SOME files from this powerbook into the iMac...how do i do it? i have a firewire cable that i used when i bought this PB...and transfered all my information from my old ibook...what do i need to do???

    p.s. again i dont wanna transfer ALL MY INFORMATION..hence i didnt use target disk mode...

    p.s.s i dont have internet in this new house, so i CANT setup a network..i'm "borrowing" my neighbors connection right now ;)

    i also have an ethernet cable laying around...cant seem to find the fire cable...
     
  2. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    #NB: Have the iMac on, but the Powerbook off.
    #1. Hook the two computers up with a 6pin to 6pin FW400 cable.
    #2. Turn on the powerbook whilst holding down the 'T' key until you see the firewire logo dancing around the screen.

    The powerbook should appear on your iMacs desktop as a firewire hard drive where you can just drag and drop however you want. :)
     
  3. AJ Muni thread starter macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    darn...i cant find the fire cable...what about ethernet cable??
     
  4. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Inside your brand spanking new iMac should be a program called Migration Assistant, located in the Utilities folder.

    I've never used it, but I think it hooks up to your older Mac via firewire (similar to target disk mode) but the advantage is that everything that is moved over is put in the right place automagically, as opposed to manually dragging and dropping where something might end up in the wrong place. I think it also allows you to select what you want to bring over, but again, I've never used it and I'm just going by what I remember reading about it.
     
  5. andcraig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    #5
    With an ethernet you should be able to pop the cable into both computers.
    Disconnect the airport signal you're "borrowing" and they'll both get self-assigned ip addresses

    on the imac type in the ip address for the powerbook (after hitting apple-k)
    should show you the powerbook in Finder.

    Oh, and make sure you have personal file sharing (i think) enabled.
     
  6. AJ Muni thread starter macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #6
    where do i find the ip address??
     
  7. asencif macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #7
    IP Address

    Go to System Preferences then select network. Your Ethernet adapter should be showing a green light and it's IP address.
     
  8. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #8
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but to connect two computers directly via ethernet don't you need a crossover cable?
     
  9. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    That is correct.
     
  10. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Nope...


    Macs have not required crossover cables to directly connect for years. A standard ethernet cable will work.
     
  11. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    Just out of curiosity, how do they do that? Do they sense the proper transmit/receive directions and automatically switch? I know that most switches and hubs have manual switches on the uplink side so that you can 'fake' a crossover, but I never heard of an automatic switch. I'm relatively new to Macs as well, and didn't know this.
     
  12. Sharewaredemon macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Breton Island
    #12
    I didn't know this, it's good to know though, even if I almost always have a FireWire cable handy.
     
  13. fradac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    hello all,

    you dont need a cross over cable. the mac Ethernet driver has AutoSwitching capability hence it can use a direct cable.

    altough you will not get an IP automatically, you have to set the ip on both computer, do these steps

    goto the network settings in system preferences and set the following on both computers

    -click on "Built in Ethernet" in the "Show" drop down menu
    -under "Configure IPv4" chose "Manually" instead of "DHCP"
    -now you have to set the IP and Subnetmask for each so do this

    Powerbook:
    -IP : 192.168.11.100
    -subnetmask : 255.255.255.0

    iMac:
    -IP : 192.168.11.101
    -subnetmask : 255.255.255.0

    that should do it, now as long as you have enabled "Personal File Sharing" under the "sharing" on the powerbook, you will see the powerbook in the Finder under network on the imac.

    after you are all done, simply go back into network settings and change the "Configure IPv4" back to "Using DHCP"

    hope this helps. PM me if you need more help
     

Share This Page