Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

saintforlife

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 25, 2011
I got my MBA a couple of hours ago and this is my first Mac. I already did something stupid and I don't know how to undo it. I wanted to put a short cut to my hard drive on my desktop so in Finder I saw the hard drive under devices in the left pane and tried to drag it to the desktop and... 'poof' it vanished. I don't see the shortcut on my desktop and now it has also disappeared from the 'Devices' list in Finder. Can someone help me put the hard drive back in the devices list in Finder and also tell me how to create a short cut to the hard drive on my desktop?

Also I since there is no 'End' button on the MBA keyboard, how do it go to the end of a line when I am typing something? What is the keyboard key/shortcut to do this?

Is there is a good resource or link online that shows me the Mac equivalent of Windows stuff like - Start, Program Files, Control Panel etc.? If there is a side by side comparison of the differences between Windows layout and Maxc OS X, it will be awesome. I don't want to make stupid mistakes like above and want to learn my way around the Mac OS X in the least amount of time.

Thanks in advance!

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington
To get your HD back on the side pane of your finder windows, go to the menu Finder>Preferences>Sidebar.

As for Home/End and PgUp/PgDn those are accessed using fn+ <- -> ^ V (left arrow, right arrow, up arrow, down arrow) respectively. However, Home and End don't behave like in Windows, they usually go to either the beginning/end of a page or document, depending on the application. As for how to get to the beginning/end of line, that is usually Command+arrow keys.

Apple has a comprehensive list on their website at http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1343

TEG

alust2013

macrumors 601
Feb 6, 2010
On the fence