Just bought my first Mac Computer

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Symtex, Jan 27, 2005.

1. Symtex macrumors 6502a

I wanted my first forum post to be here. I was reading alot of thread regarding Mac Mini and iMac G5 for the past few days.

I'm an IT Professional for the past 14 years and we've been trying out Mac at the office and was impressed with the stabiliy of the machine. It just a simple G4 1ghz with 256 RAM and MacOS X run smooth with it. For the past few years, i spent my time cleaning out spyware and viruses for my customer. I'm to the point I don't even troubleshoot anymore and just to ad-aware as my first move.

So this is the Mac I bought :

PowerMac G5 SP 1.8 ghz
    1.25G RAM
    ATi 9800 Pro 256 RAM

The rest of the option are standard. I just hook it up about 15 min ago and i'll already all setup. Amazing. Before i would spend hours optimizing and tweaking my Windows XP. I'm currently installing World of Warcraft and i don't even notice it a flinch in the processing power available to me for other applications. In Windows, i would have to wait for the lenghty installation to finish before doing something else.

I think i will be a definite switcher for a long time. I will keep my pc for application that doesn't exist on mac. Plus the Power Mac G5 is so quiet compare to my pc.

I just would like to thanks everyone who has post in this forums that helps me switch to MacOs X.

2. dswoodley macrumors 6502a

Welcome to the community! You seem like a pretty capable user, but if you need help, I've found there are lots of people on these boards willing to give good advice.

3. cluthz macrumors 68040

cluthz

Welcome.

Get Remote Desktop for mac and you can access those apps on the mac,
    i'm having a Dell in my closet that I access from my mac.
    (RDC is free from microsoft..)
    If you have experience with linux or other unix, be sure to get X11 for it so you can compile and run linux apps.