Just got accepted for Transfer to UMass - Boston!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by im_to_hyper, Mar 7, 2007.

1. im_to_hyper macrumors 65816

Aug 25, 2004
    Glendale, California, USA
    So this is probably the giddiest I have been in a really long time. I am actually pretty much downright crazy giddy. In fact, dangerously giddy.

Right now I am a freshman at the University of Minnesota - Duluth. In case you guys don't know, Duluth is the farthest inland port in the U.S. (World??) with huge freighters docking along the shore of Lake Superior. Earlier in the year I decided randomly to apply to transfer somewhere out east: somewhere more liberal and open and just a bigger city than Duluth. I could go down to the Twin Cities or to Madison, but everyone I know goes there. Somewhere new is in order.

The University of Massachusetts - Boston was my answer. Today I got my acceptance letter after months of forgetting about my application. Now comes the trouble: convincing the parents that this is the best school for me and that transferring there will be a good choice. Mom knows I'm gay, Dad and stepmom don't, so they are less supportive. My mom is totally supportive since she knows that if this is what I want to do, it should happen because finances will resolve themselves eventually. Not to mention MA is one crazy-cool liberal state with Boston being a crazy-cool liberal city.

So, I am flying out during spring break next week to come tour the campus. Does anyone have a good reccomendation as to where I should stay in the short term while I am there for a low cost? I don't want to go anywhere too expensive. Heck: any nice, friendly, Boston MR members wanna open up their pull-out couch for a college guy from Minnesota? :)
  2. thedude110 macrumors 68020

Jun 13, 2005
    Congrats on your acceptance -- I'm glad it's something that makes you so happy. :)