Just got Mac Pro. :)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nsknike, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. nsknike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #1
    I got my mac pro, stock config delivered this morning right as I was on my way out the door for work. :mad: Well all during work I couldn't wait to get home to try this beast out. Let me say it is awesome, I love my new computer. I also ordered a 23 inch ACD, instead of the 30 inch I was thinking of. I also love my new monitor. If you have any questions feel free to ask.
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Sitting by the door?

    And you are at work?

    Where do you live? :p
     
  3. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #3
    Oh, I guess I wasn't clear. My eight hours at work where hell. I'm now typing this post from my Mac Pro. Any benchmarks you want me to post?
     
  4. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4

    Nah, we already know its a screamer. Congrats.
     
  5. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #5
    congrats on the new purchase...

    i am jealous... ;)
     
  6. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #6

    I love your avatar, its awesome. Thanks also. Going to throw in 8GB of ram within the next week. :)
     
  7. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #7
    Congrats I want so much :mad: but I'm 100% happy getting a MBP I really dont have any need at all for so much power! But enjoy it :D
     
  8. overheated macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    #8
    nsknike, not exactly the question you were asking for but, what was your estimated "ship by" and "delivery by" dates. i ask this because i ordered on the seventh (stock config) and have a ship/deliver dates of 8/14 and 8/15. at this time 10:30pm central on the 14th my status still shows no change. little bit bummed.

    p.s. i hope that you thoroughly enjoy your new machine : ).....
     
  9. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #9
    I ordered the 7th also, it shipped the 10th which was the estimated ship date, and arrived today the 14th with an estimated arrival of the 15th. So I got it a day early.
     
  10. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #10
    nice... :cool: now im a bit more jealous! :p
     
  11. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #11
    How is it running with the standard 1Gb RAM?

    Are you running Final Cut Studio at all?

    Itching to order the standard config, though I'll be dropping the system drive to 160Gb and adding a bluetooth module.
     
  12. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #12
    congrats on the new system! how fast does it encode a dvd with handbrake? (you don't really have to do that unless you just want too)
     
  13. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #13
    It's kinda slow with 1GB, Microsoft Word opens faster on my Macbook with 2GB than it does on this. I don't have FCS yet but plan on getting it very soon, as in a month, thats what all the ram is for.
     
  14. CyberDoberman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #14

    Mucho Congratulations.

    Yeah, OS X really needs 2+ Gigs of Ram.

    I finally put 3 Gigs on my 2.3Ghz Dual Core G5... and wow... it XBENCHED at 135 with 2 500Gig Hitachi Drives in RAID 0.

    Just for comparison, my 2.66Ghz Mac Pro with Single Drive (well, I have 4 separate disks) and 1 Gig Ram XBENCHED at 111!!!

    Oops. :)

    I can't wait till my 4 Seagate 360GB Disks get here, and I stripe those bad boys... as well as my planned 4 GB RAM Upgrade and ATI X1900 card...:) :) :)

    It oughtta REALLY FINALLY fly then!
     
  15. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #15

    I'm doing a test on Matrix encoding H.264 with 1000kbps. After 2 percent, i was get 60fps. So a lot faster than my Macbook which gets 19.
     
  16. JackSYi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
  17. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #17
    Yeah I have also ordered the ATI x1900XT, that should make it fly.
     
  18. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #18
    thanks. i was thinking you'd get around that.
     
  19. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #19
    One of the best things about my Mac Pro, that I had no idea about, is the fact that it has built in speakers. I mean I have a nice 5.1 system, that I'm going to hook up the comp, but don't have the wires yet.

    It was a great idea of Apple to through speakers into the Mac Pro, or what ever computer they started doing this in.
     
  20. billabong macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #20

    I need to make the choice too between the 30" or the 23" do you find the 23" big enough?
     
  21. nsknike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #21
    It depends on what you are doing, I find the 23 inch big enough as of right now, but I don't have FCS yet. I'm planning on getting a 30 inch next summer and dual screening then.

    As of now I love my 23 inch, it's amazing.
     
  22. CyberDoberman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #22

    Just so you know... I just got the 30".

    I keep smiling looking at it all the time.. OMG... haven't had as big a smile since that hooker... oh, never mind...

    :rolleyes:

    Anyway, to be COMPLETELY HONEST... I'd have bought 2 23" Displays for the price of the 30" had I know just how huuuuuuuuggggeeeeeee this thing is from a practicality standpoint.

    And... this just in... my 7300GT with 30" Cinema Display renders Doom 3 at 2560x1600 at NEGATIVE 9 FPS!

    DOH!

    Just kidding, but it is definitely not as snappy at this gigantic resolution.

    But it isn't enough to make me return it and get the 2 23" :)

    So what the HELL have I said?

    I don't really know... lol
     
  23. xPismo macrumors 6502a

    xPismo

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    California.
    #23
    The first one. :D :cool:
     
  24. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #24
    Just working out my audio connections, before I order my Mac Pro. For those that have one, quick question, if I connected some speakers/stereo to the back audio out port and then from time to time used the headphone socket on the front of the Mac Pro, would the rear speakers switch off?

    Simply put, does the headphone socket on the front panel disable the audio-out port on the back? :confused:

    Could someone please try this and let me know. Thanks
     
  25. apple1984 macrumors member

    apple1984

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    usa
    #25
    You have to select the audio output in system preferences to switch between internal speakers, headphones, S/PDIF optical out, and line level out.
     

Share This Page