Just got my MBP! 3 Quick Questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stevehp, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. stevehp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    It's not a house, it's a home.
    #1
    Hi All,

    I'm typing on my new machine. I freaking love it...I have 2 quick questions:

    1) PC to Mac using an ethernet cable...How do I configure this on the windows side?

    2) Whats the best iPod utility for getting songs off of my iPod?

    3) Anything really important I should know/get right off the bat?

    Edited to add a 4th question: I installed MSN Messenger and Firefox but these 2 Hard drive looking icons stay on my desktop and the program uninstalls if I delete them...Am I missing something? I thought when you install a new program it automatically goes into the applications folder...

    Thanks!

    P.S. Great machine...No dead pixels from what I can see and I don't know what all the fuss is about over the brightness as it's wayyyy brighter than my dell...
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Senuti

    Regard's to Q1 what are you trying to do? All the config should probably be on the Mac side for File Sharing (System Preferences==>Sharing)
     
  3. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #3
    Is the PC connected to the Internet or the Mac?
     
  4. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    [edit: Egh...must read post...Are you using a router or simply an ethernet cable? things get a bit tricky if its across a cable.

    1. http://guides.macrumors.com/Networking_Windows_with_Mac_OS_X

    3. Go into system prefs and run software update now just to make sure you are up to date. A firmware release occurred tuesday I think.

    4. Apple programs aren't like Window programs where you run theM and you are done. Anything ending with a .dmg (It may be hidden by default. I recommending turning on extensions under FINDER -> Preferences -> advanced) When you double click the icon you are opening the disk image on the desktop. Generally you then just drag the application, from inside the disk image, into your application folder and you are done. There are some programs, however, that have you run the installer program that is in the disk image instead of dragging and dropping it. Firefox is one that can be dragged and dropped. Generally though if you read the readme file or text on the webpage on how to install it it will tell you if its D&D or an installer.
     
  5. stevehp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    It's not a house, it's a home.
    #5
    Just to clarify - this is to tranfer files from PC to Mac...I think I am just going to use my external HD, then burn the remaining files to DVD then reformat the External...

    I figured out the answer to my 4th question btw. It seems that you have to drag files into the application folder and then they install automatically...am I right?
     
  6. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #6
    Yep.

    No wizards or anything.




    *unless its a .pkg file
     
  7. ghanakidd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #7
    Regarding question 3:

    - Get to know your software options REALLY well. Case in point: I use my MBPro for light videoediting. It's configured high-end to get the job done, but there are major differences between iMovie (what comes with the MB Pro), Final Cut Pro, and Final Cut Express. I ultimately did a lot of research and went with Final Cut Express. Know what's available for the Core Duo processor, what's not but will be, and what never will be.

    - For some reason, there are still audio and video files that I find are incompatible with the Apple OS. .Ram files requiring Real Media Player and .WMV Windows Media Player files are particularly troublesome. Having Windows installed through BootCamp does help some since you can play the files in a native Windows environment, but it's something to mention anyway.

    - Get Boot Camp. You may not ever use it, let alone install Windows on your laptop (personally, I only use Windows about 10% of the time now, but it's still worth it 'cuz it's available free.

    That's about all I can tell you. Have fun!!!!
     
  8. stevehp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    It's not a house, it's a home.
    #8
    wicked...k final question for now! --- Whats a normal temp for it to be running at? Secondly, can I disable keyboard backlighting? When I put my hands over where the sensors must be the screen dims a bit...Is that normal?
     
  9. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #9
    flip4mac
    quicksilver

    both necessities.
     
  10. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
  11. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    Yah unfortunately that is normal. There is a sensor that detects the light level and will adjust the brightness if it sees an increase or decrease in the rooms light level.
    If you go into System Prfs -> keyboard and mouse -> keyboard there is an option to turn it off. Alt you can download this http://labtick.proculo.de/ You can override the OS and keep the backlight always on without it dimming. Be aware though that it won't turn off and will drain the battery a little faster then if its not on at all.

    I can't tell you the tem it should be running at since I have a MBP CD not the C2D. You might consider download this: http://81.169.182.62/~eidac/software/page5/page5.html You can control the fans speed with it.
    And this. http://www.bresink.de/osx/HardwareMonitor.html
    You can monitor pretty much every component in your MBP. Its pretty slick.

    PS- I edited my post above.
     
  12. stevehp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    It's not a house, it's a home.
    #12

    thanks a lot. I downloade SMC Fan Control but it will not work on the new C2D 17 inchers yet, apparantly...I'll have to wait...I disabled the keyboard function you suggested but the screen still dims when I am over the sensors...Hmmmmm
     
  13. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    screen is in a diff area. Pref -> Display. Uncheck the option at the bottom.
     
  14. stevehp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    It's not a house, it's a home.
    #14
    thanks a lot...

    I just officially did the dumbest thing ever. I am always soooo careful with emails and I opened a message totally by accident (meant to click "report spam" on gmail) and it had an attachment...I hope it wasn't a virus - but I guess i am lucky I am on a mac if it was...Should I be worried?:eek:
     
  15. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    Nope. Also IFAIK Gmail also as a built in virus scanner that gets all the big ones. As long as your account is not running with admin user rights (That can be found pref -> accounts -> and under your user name it should say ADMIN if you have admin rights.) If you do you might want to log in as admin, uncheckmark the option for admin privileges
     
  16. santadk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    1. depends on your pc mb.
    Mine haves some sort of auto crossover feature so it can use anyt type of cabel.
    But you need to configure static ip on both your pc and mac.

    Did with my own c2d mbp, went from 1 mb/s via wirless to 37 mb/s via crossover cabel.

    /martin
     

Share This Page