Just Help Me Out Please

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bbadalucco, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. bbadalucco
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #1
    I've been reading MRoogle (any maybe looking in the wrong place) but I bought a PS3 lastnight. I recently converted all my DVD and Blu Ray rips to the Apple TV format. I would like to see how everything works with streaming to the PS3 vs. the mac mini.

    The PS3 won't play my rips with MediaLink...any ideas?
     
  2. ss957916
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
  3. bbadalucco
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #3
    Fair enough
     
  4. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #4
    Well, since you supply very little info. Who knows ? However one thought is *if* you used HandBrake's AppleTV preset you ended up with 64 bit mp4's ... which the PS3 will not play. Just a shot in the dark.
     
  5. tbayrgs
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    I had the same problem with my PS3 though to be honest, I'd already planned on getting a mac mini so wasn't really concerned.

    I've never used it myself but have seen numerous mention of PS3 Media Server. Supposedly it encodes to a PS3 friendly format on the fly. The downside I would guess is that quality of a twice encoded file probably isn't great.
     
  6. roidy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #6
    I could be completely wrong here but I don't think the PS3 supports AC3 audio in a M4V container. So using the AppleTV preset will give you a file containing AC3 audio. Try encoding a new file using the ATV preset but remove the AC3 audio track and see if it works.
     
  7. GermanSuplex
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #7
    It supports h264 movies with an AC3 soundtrack, I just don't know if it supports movies with a default AC3 soundtrack. It may, I've never tried it.
     
  8. SpeedFleX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    Interwebz
    #8
    try renaming the files to mp4 if they are in m4v
     
  9. roidy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #9
    As I said I could be wrong but I think the PS3 only supports AC3 audio in an mkv container and not in an m4v or mp4 container. I think thats why when you use the PS3 preset in Handbrake it sets the container as mp4 and removes the AC3 track.
     

Share This Page