Just moved into college and internet isn't working.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by reviewspin, Aug 22, 2006.

  1. reviewspin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #1
    Hello, let me try to explain the problem.


    I live on UTC and the way the internet works is one big network, and you must down this thing called "CleanAccess" and install/sign on. The way you download it is you connect to any web site besides UTC.edu, and it will auto-matically start downloading. Thats where thye problem lies. I know it has to do with the IP Address -- it is a 192.XXXX (whatever the rest of the numbers are) and I need a 172.XXXX (whatever the rest of the #'s are). I just don't know how to fix it. I will be waiting in line sometime today at the network place on campus, but if someone can tell me how to fix it..that would be great. It takes like an hour to wait in line.

    Anyway, my AIM is GuiltyGaming and email astraith@mac.com -- don't email my gmail one right now. Or just reply here. Whatever works (BTW, i wont be on my AIM for a while....).

    I'll post the answer if I figure it out b4 u guys do. :-D Thanks if you try to help.
     
  2. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #2
    How are your Network preferences configured? Manually? DHCP? Are you using a router? You need to provide a better picture of how your machine is set up here.
     
  3. Cameront9 macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    Are you sure this "CleanAccess" application is for Mac? This sounds like something Windows users have to download and run to make sure they don't have any viruses, etc.
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    This is right. My university uses Clean Access as well, but Mac users don't need to use it. We simply get redirected to a page where we login, and bam we're online.
     
  5. reviewspin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #5

    Well, yeppers, I don't need it -- but i didn't know that until that login-in page would actually show up. The problem was the the IPV seting or something. I fixed it, and I had to re-start my mac. :-D It's all better now. :-D Thanks!
     

Share This Page