Just ordered 12" G4 iBook!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by plasticparadox, Nov 30, 2003.

1. plasticparadox macrumors 6502

This will be my first Mac, though I used them all throughout elementary and high school (although not OSX). Should be delivered in about a week!

I got the education discount (I'm a teacher), so I maxed out the RAM to 640. I didn't bother with Airport or Bluetooth.

Does anyone have the 12" G4 iBook? Can you let me know if I made a good choice? Should I have gone with the PowerBook?

TIA

2. niter macrumors 6502

Me too! :)

I just put in an order for a 12" G4 iBook 30 minutes ago!

I also got the ed discount as I am a student. I opted for bluetooth, keynote, 60 GB HD, and I will get the RAM 3rd party later on.

From what I have read we both made great choices :) Congrats!

3. MattG macrumors 68040

MattG

Re: Just ordered 12" G4 iBook!

Awesome--i'm sure you'll love it. However...no Airport? You're not going to use wireless at all? I mean you can always add it yourself later, but...?

4. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

CmdrLaForge

Congrats !

Good choices - both of you. I made the switch about 6 month ago and got the iBook G3 900MHz. Great machine, great experience. I have a PeCee as well and .... well don't want to blame M$ again.

Cheers

If any questions - ask !

5. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

johnnyjibbs

You can always add AirPort later for the same price. I have no airport card yet in my powerbook but I can't yet afford a base station and Britain is very behind in the Wi-Fi race...

Congrats with your purchase. I switched to Mac 8 weeks ago and have not looked back!

6. pennae macrumors newbie

yay!! i ordered one on friday too, and will be teaching next year (my rationalising for needing one *grin*)

but i hate waiting for it! bleeeerrrgh! waiting is not one of my strong points ;)

i think we've made fantastic choices *grins*

7. ac2102 macrumors member

ac2102

Guys and Gals,