Just thinking about college

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by irain, Dec 28, 2006.

1. irain macrumors regular

irain

I'm a sophomore in high school and I've just been thinking about college lately. Shortly before Christmas break, one of my professors told me that I'd have no problem getting into any school, including Ivy Leauge. (Heads up: I'm not considering Ivy League) Anyway, I'm in all honors classes and I'm ranked second in my class of 125. My GPA is 5.3 weighted, and 4.3 unweigthed. Next year, my junior year, I'll be taking AP U.S. History, AP Biology or AP Physics (probably AP Physics), AP English Composition, AP Studio Art, AP Calculus BC, and AP French Language.

I'm planning on attending a private university and I want to major in architecture.

First off, I'm going to attend college in Boston. No questions asked. If the school isn't in Boston, I'm not going to it. I have it set in my heart that I'm going to Boston. I just really want the city-experience, yet I still want to stay close to home.

Secondly, and partly why I started the thread, I wanted to know: How can I ask my parents about not living in university housing? I want to live in an apartment in the Beacon Hill neighborhood of Boston. I searched around on Craigslist and rent usually ranges from $1200 - $1600. How can I ask them something like that? Do I propose that I obtain student loans for college tuition while they pay for the rent of the apartment? Do I tell them that I'll work during the summer to help them pay for it? Is this even a good idea?

Lastly, and mainly why I started the thread, what college (for all of you from MA) would you recommend for those wihingto major in architecture? The Boston Architectural College? Suffolk University? Boston College? Boston University? MIT?

Thanks for reading this far and thanks for any feedback.

irain