Just upgrade my 2009 dual 2.26 to dual 2.93 GHz

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Amethyst, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #1
    I've just upgrade my old 8-core 2.26 GHz Mac Pro to use a new pair of x5570.
    Thats means now i've own a mac that once time its cost 5,899 USD!!!!!

    Form my experience i want to share 5 things.

    1.) I've using 2.1 mm of washer (0.7mm x 3), and it work great!! you just tighten the screw and it set, no fan problem ho heat problem. (Idle 44c under Ambient 39c very hot in Thailand)
    2.) I doesn't adjust, modify fan connector just use it as it come.
    3.) I've add 2mm thermal pad to my heatsink, Add from pink thermal pad.
    4.) It's very very easy. Doesn't need to hesitate.
    5.) About the processor.
    - I choose x5570 over 6-core variant because it much cheaper.I've paid just $380 for two of these. (vs $400 for just one of 6-core 2.4GHz that much lower frequency)
    - I choose x5570 over w5590. Because it TDP is 95watt, follow Apple specification, I know w5590 can use without problem in 2009 pro. but my home is very very hot so i think i need lower TDP than +0.3 GHz max frequency.
    - Another thing is about my dream, in 2009 I've dream to own the most expensive mac money can buy (8x2.93 Nehalem). That time i can't do. Today it very affordable to do.Why not?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    congrats! geekbench before and after on your particular system?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #3
    Before (2xE5520) = 13429
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1225318

    After (2xX5570) = 18069
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1515217

    My Collection FYI
    Custom 2009 Mac Pro (6-core 3.2 GHz) = 14864
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/934285

    2009 Mac Pro (Quad 2.66GHz) = 9555
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/699714

    Custom 2006 Mac Pro (8x1.83GHz(BSEL2.33GHz)) = 9154
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/614672

    2996 Mac Pro (2xDual 2.66GHz) = 5535
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/569046
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    wow, seems like a very inexpensive way to bump up the performance (i also have a 2.26x8 right now).
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #6
    i've pay $300 for i7-970. bargain price.

    I have two of 2009 pro. The first is single processor. original its 2.66 quad. but later upgrade with 6core 3.2 GHz.

    The second is dual processor model in this threads.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #7
    If I could ask, what do you do with those machines?
     
  8. Amethyst, Jan 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #8
    dual processor - build an Apps for iOS, Software development, design retina-class website, web development, Do my Phd research. etc.
    single processor - A server for my family business. (3-stars Hotel in Thailand) mainly use about hotel billing. collaboration service. In this picture it under my desk but now it moved to server room.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #9
    Where did you get 2 processors for $380?
    It's a great a price. So, if the ambient temps in my house are not to high, would you suggest me to go the w5590 route. I do a lot of Adobe Lightroom and video encoding (handbrake), so the extra 0.3 would really help me.
    Although, I understand the power consumption problem. Do you think, if I wanted to instal a powerful video card (ATI 5870 for example) in addition to upgrading to 2x3.20 (w5590), would I have problems with not enough power? Just FYI, I also have 6 HDDs inside my Mac Pro 2009 dual 2.26.
    Thank you for your help.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #10
    That's what I want to know. :confused:
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #11
    ebay guys. $175 per processor, $30 shipping to Thailand.

    ----------

    I still recommend X5570 over W5590. cause do something under spec is better.
    but if extra 0.3 really help you you can go that route. PSU of our mac pro can do just fine.
     
  12. 666sheep, Jan 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    You need X5590 not W5590. "W" are for single CPU setup only.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #13
    W5590 is right.

    Single setup is xeon 3000 series.
    Dual setup is xeon 5000 series.

    W prefix is tell processor have 130w TDP.
    X prefix is tell processor have 95w TDP.

    There're 2 of W prefix processor in 5000 series.
    W5580 at 3.2 GHz turbo boost 3.43 GHz
    W5590 at 3.3 GHz turbo boost 3.6 GHz
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    Oh, my bad :eek:

    Need another coffee ;)
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #15
    :p:cool::)
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #16
    Also E prefix for 80W TDP, and L prefix for <80W TDP. However for the 56XX series, all 130W TDP processors such as 5677,5680 and above still have X prefix instead of W, therefore the confusion. Intel apparently abandoned these prefixes in their Sandy/Ivy Bridge-EP lineup.
     
  17. Spacedust, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    Mine is dual X5570 directly from Apple, but hey how did you get 1333 MHz RAM to work at max speed ?

    I've got 1333 MHz RAM and it runs only at 1066 MHz !

    My machine is flashed to firmware 5,1.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #18
    You need to do a PRAM reset as mentioned here. Click on the Resetting NVRAM / PRAM link to see the steps.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    I did that and no go. Apple CPU's must be locked at 1066 MHz.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #20
    That's a bummer. It's bad enough that Apple used lidless processors in the first place, and now no memory speed bump even with 5,1 flash. There may be very little performance improvement from 1066 to 1333, but I could understand your frustration.
     
  21. tjlazer, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #21
    So I can install a i7 970 in my single processor 2009 Mac Pro? How does that CPU compare to the proper Xeon Hex core w36x0? :confused:
     
  22. xcodeSyn, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #22
    Yes, you can if you choose to after upgrading to firmware 5,1 of course. The i7 970 is equivalent to the W3670 Xeon but without ECC memory support and only supports memory speed up to 1066MHz. Your ECC memory would be wasted and you can use non-ECC desktop memory instead.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #23
    Don't worry - I will switch to X5670's or X5675's in about two year time.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #24
    Thanks! I also started my own thread, this is good news indeed if you can find a cheap i7, it seems they are pretty prices still.
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #25
    Did you use nylon or metal washers? Also, did you use 2mm thermal pad? Silicone? Is this one good enough?

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008X0UKV8/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1THAZDOWP300U

    Thanks

     

Share This Page