Just upgraded to 2GB of Crucial RAM in my 24"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by wakerider017, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I ordered 2 X Crucial 1GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) sticks of RAM.

    Just to let you know Micron is the company that makes the RAM that comes in your Apple.

    Micron makes Crucial. When I got the memory it had a Micron sticker and the memory chips on the RAM said Micron on them. They look identical to what you buy in the Apple store (and they probably are.)

    Here is a link to what I bought.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145048

    That is what you should need for all Intel Macs (except the mac pro)


    Anyway, I expected their to be a nice increase in speed with the install of 2GB of RAM.

    After installing the RAM I was SHOCKED at how zippy the computer was. It was MUCH MUCH faster at everything. Apps load so much faster now and run much smoother.

    Best $145 I have spent on a computer upgrade. I am VERY impressed, Macs must really like RAM. :D
     
  2. Mr. MacBook macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #2
    Man that's a excellent deal for crucial ram, could have easily gotten $20 cheaper corsair valueselect tho.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Couple of points: Micron is just one of Apple's suppliers, lately I have seen a lot of MacBooks with Hynix modules, Apple also uses Samsung, Infineon and Elpida (and in years past, IBM). Apple buy on bulk contracts and like any prudent business always have multiple suppliers on tap for key parts.

    Crucial does not sell exclusively Micron modules, they too resell other makers of memory under the Crucial label.

    So don't get toooo hung up on the concept...

    Bottom line though, I like the Crucial modules better than the Corsair ValueSelect modules, which are in my opinion inexpensive generic modules with nothing particular to recommend them.
     
  4. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #4
    I actually originally ordered the Corsair Value RAM. (I am in the process of returning it now)

    I never tried it but most people here will discourage you from using it.

    Also read the reviews on Newegg. A lot of people say it either does not work with their Apple or is very unstable.

    The Crucial RAM got rave reviews.
     
  5. Konradx macrumors 6502

    Konradx

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    Hmm, sounds like a great upgrade! Has any of your gaming improved? If you play any?
     
  6. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    Don't have any games now.. Thinking about buying WOW.

    Do you have to pay monthly for that game?
     
  7. kildraik macrumors 6502a

    kildraik

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    Yes, you do, but you can by 6 or 12 month chunks of the service. Otherwise it's about.. correct me if I'm wrong... $15 a month.
     
  8. UKingdom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    #8
    how does that ram compare to this one (see below)

    i just bought a imac 20 inch with 1 gig of ram (2 512's) and i want to upgrade to 2 gigs.

    the only way i can do this is to take out the 2 512s and either put in a 2 gig in one slot, or 2 1 gig sticks. i'm leaning towards the latter.

    i was able to find crucial 2 gig ( 2 x 1 gig) for 129.99, that's certainly a lot cheaper than the 350 apple is asking for a 2 gig stick. is the performance going to be comparable? i think crucial is a reputable brand, no?

    this is the link; it should work, right?

    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartsp...5FD16EA5CA7304

    i was considering selling the 2 512 stock sticks to offset the cost of new ram but having read the above i think it's a good idea to keep it just in case for applecare purposes. thoughts?
     
  9. waynergy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
  10. papadopolis1024 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    #10
    you have to keep at least one stick of apples RAM in it to keep the applecare
     
  11. cmonster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #11
    False information...

    My sister in law and a friend work for Crucial here in Meridian Idaho. I know for a fact that Crucial ONLY sells Micron modules. Crucial is owned by Micron and is there retail out let. I have also toured the the Micron factory and the Crucial warehouse I have asked many questions regarding memory. Never once have they said "ya some times we sell crap from Hynix". You have to remember that Micron, Samsung and Hynix have been in a major trade battle. The last thing Micron would do is sell stuff from companies they are in a major argument with.

    Here is the link to the company info page
    http://www.crucial.com/Company/companyinfo.asp

    Don't just throw out information that you don't know is correct. Drives me crazy when people talk out of there butt.
     
  12. mdelaney123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    #12
    Is this true???

    I just bought a 24" refurb and it should be delivered on Saturday. I was just getting ready to order 2x1gb from Crucial to replace the 2x512mb...

    :confused:
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    :D :D

    We are a Crucial dealer. One example: Order CT368079 RAM for a Powerbook G4 15" 1.25 GHz. See what you get. It will be a Samsung module, because Micron do not make a processor-slewing compatible PC2700 SODIMM. Now order CT592079 RAMBus memory for a Dimension 8100. Oops, Samsung again. Micron does not make RAMBus.

    Don't drink the coolaid, dood. I do know a bit about what I am talking about after 16 years in the RAM business. I have held Crucial modules made by non-Micron manufacturers in my hand, and I have had Crucial technicians admit that they would have to ship me Hynix or Elpida modules for particular machines because they couldn't supply Micron.

    People get all high on this "Apple uses Micron, Crucial is Micron, therefore Crucial is infallible" trip and it is unwarranted. Yes it's good memory. No it is not somehow special.

    BTW: Don't just throw out information that you don't know is correct. Drives me crazy when people talk out of their butt.
     
  14. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #14
    My Crucial RAM will be here today. I got that same memory off eBay. $35/gig, couldn't pass that up :D
     
  15. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #15
    Buy your 3rd party RAM. Just keep the original Apple RAM and put it back in the computer when (and if) you send it away for repairs. But once you get it back you can put back in your 2GB :)
     
  16. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #16
    I've sent my Powerbook off for repair a few times with 3rd party RAM in both slots and they never said anything. When it's obvious that the RAM isn't causing the problem (in my cases, a bad keyboard, bad LCD backlight, and a bad temp sensor) they don't care. If the computer wouldn't boot or kept freezing up or something, then they might blame the RAM
     
  17. Flyinace2000 macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #17
    Normally yes. I sent in my 1.67Ghz PB in for the freezing track pad issue twice. The third time i sent it in the sent it back saying my ram was causing it......rrrrrright. Ram is causing the track pad to lock up.
     
  18. Nym macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #18
    Does anyone know of a simple, secure website with reasonable prices where I can order RAM for a 24" iMac in Europe?

    To the OP: Do you know if newegg will ship to Europe? I wanna feed my baby! :D
     
  19. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #19
    Why, because they're foolish? Attached to high dollar name brands? Please. That's like people who only buy Sony products because of the mystique behind the brand name, which no longer carries any cache in the real world.

    Corsair ram is excellent quality at an even greater price.

    I've put Corsair ValueSelect ram in at least 5 systems, Mac and Windows PC. Never once had a problem, ever. This includes desktops and notebooks.

    "Unstable" falls into the YMMV category. :p
    Corsair ram has a lifetime warranty. Is it really that much trouble for anyone to buy it, try it, and return it if it doesn't work? As opposed to paying out the @$$ for Crucial when you probably didn't have to?

    Re: Crucial & rave reviews - I should hope so. You pay that much for ram, it should be perfect. I'd expect nothing less.

    But people ought to realize some of the crap that Crucial tries to pull, like giving you different ram prices based on what platform and system specs you have when you visit their site for pricing. This is a well documented problem and one more reason why I'll never buy Crucial ram.

    ~just my $0.02. :eek:
     
  20. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #20
    Another vote for Corsair Value Select here too. :)

    2GB in my MacBook Pro... flawless. :D

    Never understood the Crucial thing... they must threaten peoples families or something to get away with charging their prices.
     
  21. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #21
    I had to return the one stick of Corsair Value Select I bought; laptop refused to boot with it in :/
     
  22. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #22
    Well after I read review after review about corsair memory saying "this ram does not work in my Mac mini, or this ram does not work in my iMac"

    And then I read the Crucial reviews that say "works perfectly"

    Why wouldn't I just spend the extra $10 on proven Crucial memory? I think you need to do some more research. he price difference between Crucial and Corsair is insignificant.

    I have ordered about $10,000 worth of stuff off of Newegg in the past. And let me tell you those reviews are VERY handy. Some may be off or just plain wrong, But when everyone is saying it does not work with my Mac, I am not going to take the chance.

    EDIT: Check this out - 1GB sticks of crucial memory for $35 free shipping! http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145048


    THAT IS INSANE!!!
     
  23. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #23
    Couldn't that just have been a faulty stick of RAM though? Crucial send out faulty ones too... been there done that.
     
  24. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #24
    As I mentioned previously, I have 2 sticks of that Crucial RAM in my iMac (Couldn't pass up that deal) and it works perfectly. It was a risk, but I knew NewEgg's customer service and RMA process is great, and I'd be able to RMA it, but luckily I didn't need to.
     
  25. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #25
    Why was it a risk?
     

Share This Page