JVC 20GB Hard Drive Camcorders

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by cgratti, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #1
    Just got one, anyone here have one? What settings do you imoprt your video for playback on a DVD?

    It seems to take a bit of time on the best resolution, does anyone have any suggestions as how do speed up the time by tweaking settings without compromising quality...
     
  2. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #2
    I haven't seen many people on MR that like the tapeless camcorders.
     
  3. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #3
    I haven't seen a review anywhere that has spoken highly of the hard drive based camcorders.
     
  4. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #4
    http://www.camcorderinfo.com/

    Search around that website...;)
     
  5. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #5
    Which software are you using to get the clips off the camcorder and into your Mac? Which software are you using to work with the camcorder's files? It's hard to give you speed and quality tips without knowing what your current workflow is.
    How does that help the original poster?
     
  6. Dave the Great macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #6
    Unless they changed this year's models on the way they save the info, which I don't think they did, it is disappointing because you are stuck using JVC's stupid software. If you change the file name from their goofy name (MOD), you are able to import it into other software programs. However, you lose the sound.

    Actually, believe it or not, I gave them the idea a few years ago. However, they did not implement all my ideas, so I am not to blame for the lousy quality.
     
  7. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    I'm wondering whether the files / transport streams would be accessible via VirtualDVHS, for conversion with MPEG Streamclip. Have you tried that?
     
  8. cgratti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #8
    i use the bundled software Capty that came with it, it lets me convert to just about any format. I was really looking to see if I used the highest settings it would be overkill.
     

Share This Page