Keep Using Blackbook Core Duo Or Buy New MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Zeus86, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have been using a blackbook core duo since 2006 and it has done an amazing job. But its going to be 5 year mark soon and I think it's time for a new MacBook Pro. The technology had advanced so much since I bought the blackbook on Aug 06 it seems anchient now. It is still in great condition but I known I can't get no value since it's a 5 year old laptop, the trade in value is around $250 and I find that ridiculous because it still great condition. Should I just buy a new MP since I have the money?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #2
    If it suits your needs then I would keep it. Just upgrade the memory and maybe add an SSD.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I don't think you can add a ssd and ram is maxed out at 2 gigs.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Moyank24

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    in a New York State of mind
    #4
    I have a 2008 Blackbook which is still going strong. I'm at almost 1000 cycles on the original battery and it doesn't have a ding or dent in it.

    That being said, I actually just sprung for one of the refurbished 2010 MBP's that have been discounted since the release of the new ones.. This computer is still in perfect working order, but I did want something with a little more "juice" so to speak. So, I was able to save a little money, while still getting myself a major upgrade. Right now I have 2.4 Ghz/2GB Ram/250 GB. I upgraded to 2.66 Ghz/4GB Ram/320 GB.

    I'm just waiting for Fed Ex to knock on my door (it's on the truck for delivery) and then I'll have 2 awesome computers!
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #5
    3GB, and it used SATA, so an SSD is possible. but I thought the Black books were in 2008? If thats the case then 6GB is the limit.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have a core duo 2006. The max ram is 2gb. Core 2 Duo you can use 3gb. Trust me. Core Duo was the first processor used in MacBooks. You can't use a SSD on this model.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #7
    yes I was thinking of the 2007 model.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #8
    Why not? It's just SATA. You should be able to.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    CorporateFelon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Seconding this one.

    I have never heard of this before.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #10
    Its PATA not SATA.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    All MacBooks are SATA (even the early Core Duos) - PowerBooks and iBooks were PATA.....
     

Share This Page