Kernel Panic - can't boot into safe mode or install disc!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mcfmullen, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #1
    I am trying to fix my brother's white macbook running what I assume is OS X Panther (2006). He is receiving a kernel panic error: "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or press the Restart button."

    This pops up right away after booting and the apple logo. Restarting results in the same error every time. Holding shift for safe mode only gets me the same error. I have tried resetting PRAM - same error.

    Since I can't put the install disc into the computer without getting into the OS, I am using an external DVD drive to boot using the install disc. Holding Option and choosing the install disc results in the same kernel error. Holding Shift while booting from the install disc finally yielding some more pertinent information I hope someone here can use to tell me what to do:

    Code:
    panic(cpu caller 0x003A9241): Unable to find driver for this platform: "ACPI".
    
    Debugger called: <panic>
    Backtrace, Format - Frame: Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x24e6bdf8 : 0x128d08 (0x3c9a14 0x24e6be1c 0x131de5 0x0)
    0x24e6be38 : 0x3a9241 (0x3edf20 0x3680790 0x24e6be68 0x36a7140)
    0x24e6be58 : 0x38aff0 (0x36ad900 0x3664c80 0x1 0x3be425)
    0x24e6beb8 : 0x38c86f (0x3664c80 0x36ad900 0x36abc00 0x36a9de0)
    0x24e6bf38 : 0x38c0d7 (0x3664c80 0x36875c0 0x8 0xffffffff)
    0x24e6bf88 : 0x38d81c (0x3664c80 0x0 0x134c09 0x38d742)
    0x24e6bfc8 : 0x19a6ec (0x3680400 0x0 0x19d0b5 0x367eb70) Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0x0
    
    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel version 8.8.3: Wed )ct 18 21:57:10 PDT 2006; root:xnu-792.15.4.0bj~4/RELEASE_I386
    My brother says the laptop worked fine this morning. He didn't install anything, didn't rename files, didn't move files or folders anywhere...

    So here I am with no options left. I can't boot into safe mode. I can't boot from install disc. I can't go into target mode because I can't get into the OS. So what can I do?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Which install disc are you using?
    Btw, the 2006 MacBooks came with Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger.
    Mac OS X 10.3 Panther was "discontinued" in 2005 and works only on PPC Macs.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #3
    I am using install disc 1, the same one the macbook shipped with. You're right, it must be Tiger.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    I am not sure, if you tried Target Disk Mode yet, though you mentioned it.
    When I use TDM I just start the Mac and immediately press and hold the "T" key, no need for any OS booting.

    What about using another Mac in TDM and connecting it to the MacBook and starting that MacBook from the external HDD (the other Mac)?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #5
    I will give it a try in the morning (had no idea you could hold "T"!) and report back on it!
     
  6. macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    This happened to me once, or a similar thing. My computer KP'd while installing a 10.4.x update of Tiger (I forget which one). It meant as soon as you turned it on it KP'd as there was a corrupt OS on it.

    In the end I had to replace the HD with a new one with a proper OS. I then put the old one into an enclosure, wiped it and reinstalled Tiger.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #7
    I can boot into target mode, however my macbook pro can't detect the macbook in question :(
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Does it show up in Disk Utility?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #11
    This is the big question. I have asked my brother what he wants to do. Ultimately, I think the solution is to replace his HD.
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Before you do that:
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
  14. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #14
    And since you can do that, does the internal HDD show up in Disk Utility now?

    If not, then it is time for a new HDD. I presume, your friend has a current backup?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #15
    Being the stubborn person he is, my brother does not have a backup. It'll be his loss!
     
  16. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #16
    Everybody has to learn sometime. Good luck with the new HDD.
     
  17. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region

Share This Page