Kernel Panic

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by DaveTheGrey, Feb 6, 2004.

  1. DaveTheGrey macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #1
    Hi everybody,

    A friend of mine has two Powerbooks 12". On both macs is the same stuff (10.3.2 and apps) and on both he gets kernel panics.

    He already did the disk repair stuff from the install cd. The Ram was build in by apple.

    Does anyone know another reason why these kernel panics appear ?

    Thankfull for every post.

    Dave
     
  2. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #2
    Re: Kernel Panic

    anything AOL related...

    faulty logic board?
     
  3. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #3
    thnx for the post.

    aol could be the reason, what do you suggest ? deleting aol ?

    What´s a "faulty logic board" ?

    Dave
     
  4. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #4
    Hadware could be the problem. Do the kernel panics occur with nothing plugged into the computers? If so, it could be that one of his software programs modified the computer kernel.
     
  5. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #5
    It has nothing to do with something thats plugged in.
    If it´s an application that occures the panic, how do i locate it ?
    Making a clean install of panther and then installing one app after the other until I find the one who makes the trouble ?

    It´s the only way I know.

    Dave
     
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #6
    Try running the hardware test CD before you do anything else -- especially before you try a clean install! I'll give you even chances that the problem is bad RAM. The hardware test CD may or may not detect the problem it if exists (for me it did), but IMO it's well worth removing the RAM from the bottom slot and running the PB for a while that way to see if the KPs continue.
     
  7. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #7
    Thanx IJ Reilly

    what do you mean with the hardware test cd ?
    Is it the first of the three panther cds ?

    Dave
     

Share This Page