Kernel Panics, help anyone?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Heb1228, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #1
    Hey guys, I've had about 4 kernel panics in the last 3 days since installing new memory and a new hard drive. I just removed the memory and reinstalled the memory that came with the machine, because I know bad memory is a likely culprit.

    Here are a few strange things though... I ran Rember (a memory tester) and it said it didn't find any problems.

    Also, twice I've had my Powerbook "doze" on me. I'm not sure what else to call it, its like halfway between sleep and awake. Once was when I had it in my bag, I took it out and it was doing it. The other time was last night when I was just moving the mouse cursor. The screen goes black, just like it would if it were going to sleep because of a low battery, but the sleep light doesn't come on and it doesn't respond to anything. But the computer is still actually on, because you have to hold the power button down to do a hard restart. Is this just another type of kernel panic?

    I've got the log entry for the last one, here it is:
    I know some people around these board can interpret this and give some suggestion. Thanks guys!
     
  2. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #2
    Panic!!

    Do you have the original install disks?
    Try running the Apple Hardware tests from those.
    :cool:
     
  3. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #3
    I heard somewhere that they weren't working properly with Tiger. I guess I'll try it and see.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Do you have and regularly use a BT mouse or KB with this powerbook, Brent?
     
  5. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #5
    the only other thing i can think of would be to repair preferences.

    sometimes OS X just gets installed all screwy and will have weird errors. nothing to do in that case except re-install.

    you could also create a clean user - and use that account for a while. just to see if it's got anything to do with some software you installed.
     
  6. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #6
    I used them recently and they worked as well as the AHT works. :p

    That said, when you ran Rember, did you do multiple tests on just 1mb of ram, or did you run a few tests on all of the ram. It takes longer this way, but it will help to diagnose problems much more accurately. Besides, AHT said my ram that was faulty was actually fine!
     
  7. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #7
    If the hardware test passes, the next thing to do is boot into "single user mode" (command-s when you hear the startup chime) and run "fsck -f" (hit return). If it repairs the disk, repeat the test until it comes back "OK". Restart. :cool:
     
  8. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #8
  9. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #9
    Yes, actually I use the Apple BT Keyboard and it has been connected pretty much every time its happened. Do you think that could be the problem? The only thing is, it didn't seem to give me any problems before I put the RAM and hard drive upgrades in.

    Everyone else, thanks for the suggestions! It'll take me a little while to get through all of them, but I will let you know how its coming. I'm repairing permissions first.

    The Apple Hardware Disc had Techtool plus on it. I ran the memory part and it said everything was fine. Then 20 min. later I had another kernel panic. :confused:
     
  10. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #10
    I ran the test for 1 pass over all the RAM. Maybe I'll try letting it go for 2 or 3 passes. I also ran it right after a restart and let it quit all programs so it could test as much memory as possible.
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    I have had a similar KP issue in Tiger, with leaving a bluetooth device on, and then putting the computer to sleep and moving it out of range of the bluetooth device, and then turning it back on... it wasn't consistent, but it happened several times. Since then, I turned off Wake on Bluetooth, and also make sure to turn my mouse off before I move my iBook.... Which works, but.... I didn't have the issue with Panther.

    So anyway, that was what I was thinking. Although the things you're considering are certainly possible...
     
  12. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #12
    If this is the problem, it would definitely explain the first time it happened, I closed it in my room, connected to the BT keyboard, and opened it somewhere else. I'll keep BT turned off for awhile and see if that fixes the problem.

    As far as the other suggestions... I zapped the PRAM and ran the fsck -f thingy and it said the disk was OK.

    But anyways, I've gone through most of the suggestions so now I guess its just wait and see if I have another one!
     
  13. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #13
    Well I didn't have to wait very long. I left the room for about 5 minutes, came back and got the kernel panic screen. Right now, I'm really thinking it has to be the RAM. I've been trying the 2 sticks I bought one at a time along with the original Apple memory and its happened with both of them. Maybe I just got two bad sticks of memory?! :confused:

    The only thing I haven't tried yet is that Open Firmware thingy. I read the page thats linked above, but I couldn't really figure out what it was saying to do. Any more info on that?
     
  14. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #14
    The problem points to memory. I suggest you run your machine with the original memory ONLY. See what happens.

    Mac's won't tolerate bad memory very well. The irony is that it sometimes passes memory tests and still fails in service. Use original Mac memory or try Crucial Ram. I've had good results with both although the mac memory is very expensive. :rolleyes:
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15

    I think on modern Macs it's pretty much the same as resetting NVRAM which you would have done by default when you reset the PRAM. Maybe try resetting the PMU - although I doubt it'll do much.

    I agree with yenko, run it with just the Apple RAM and see how things go from there. :)
     
  16. Mac_Freak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #16
    Heb1228 it is most probably the RAM that is causing KP

    I had a bad RAM before too, Apple hardware test (extended) and TechTool Pro couldn't find anything. So finaly I have swaped my sticks around and I got a KP just after my desktop appeared. To eliminate the bad ram, I have put one stick a time and using it at two different slots. Sure thing, it was one bad ram stick, after having it replaced no KP so far.

    I am sorry to say but it sounds that your new RAM could be the problem.
     
  17. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #17
    Just curious, but where did you buy the RAM, and what brand of RAM is it? Not that where you bought it necessarily matters, but i bought some RAM recently from a fairly large macintosh supplier online. The first two sticks were bad, and the two replacements they sent were bad as well. All in all, about eight kernel panics per hour. I purchased from Crucial and the RAM works great.

    The good news is that it looks like RAM, as other posters have said. Now the problem is going through the hassle of getting it replaced. :(
     
  18. EJBasile macrumors 65816

    EJBasile

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    #18
    It could be a logic board. There was a thread a little while ago saying that frequent kernal panics could be caused by a logic board problem. Other problems include:

    -No start up sound
    -Sleep light problems
    -Missing RAM
     
  19. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #19
    I'm still thinking RAM is the most likely option. I'm running on just the Apple pre-installed RAM right now, so we'll see if I have any problems with now. I got the memory from newegg.com. If I don't have any more problems by tomorrow, I'll call and see what I can do about getting another brand or something.

    One other thing I've noticed is that two of the kernel panics were definitely caused my Energy Saver settings. On one of them, I had just adjusted one of the settings, and then I clicked on the red button to close System Prefs. Bam! Grey screen. Then, just a few minutes ago, I unplugged the power cord and got the grey screen instantaneously.
     
  20. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #20
    After you install the original RAM, restart; then restart again and hold the command-s keys down. Run: fsck -f. Repair permissions; restart. :cool:
     
  21. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #21

    Try Crucial RAM. Really! :cool:
     
  22. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #22
    That was before, when I had the old RAM in. Since going back to the Apple RAM, no problems so far... (keeping fingers crossed).
     
  23. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #23

    This is not a lecture: Make ONE change at a time and test it first.;)

    I believe in your original statement was that you changed the drive and added RAM. That would make it TWO. :cool:
     
  24. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #24
    I did leave the RAM in for about 6 hours before installing the hard drive. I thought that would be long enough to spot any problems, but obviously not. Good advice though!
     
  25. Heb1228 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #25
    Good news in case anyone wants to know...

    I went back to ONLY the Apple pre-installed RAM last night and have had no problems since then. I've even tried to cause a kernel panic by doing some of the things that had previously caused them, and still rock solid. So my diagnosis is bad memory.

    So I called newegg.com this morning, and they told me to send it back and they would refund without charging me the restocking fee. Very easy, they were great to deal with. I'll definitely shop there again next time because of the good service I received this morning.

    So I shipped those 2 sticks back and ordered 2 1GB sticks of Crucial RAM from newegg.com. It was $20 more per stick, but after I'm not messing around with no-name memory anymore after this experience!

    Thanks for the help everyone!
     

Share This Page