Kernel Panics Is It My Ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Old Smuggler, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. Old Smuggler macrumors 6502a

    Old Smuggler

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #1
    How do i tell what is causing the kernel panics that have started today?

    it is causing applications to shut down unexpectedly and crashing my system

    i had purchased a 1gb stic for my emac from OWC less than a month ago with no problems until now

    i did an apple hardware test and everything showed up as working properly

    i took the stick out and it worked fine put it back in and it worked fine for a couple of hours then crashed again

    here is one of the error reports if this helps

    is it my ram or something else?



    Unresolved kernel trap(cpu 0): 0x300 - Data access DAR=0x0000000010000018 PC=0x0000000000081B50
    Latest crash info for cpu 0:
    Exception state (sv=0x38053000)
    PC=0x00081B50; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x10000018; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x0007F938; R1=0x2201B3A0; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
    Backtrace:
    0x02AB5200 0x0007F938 0x0007D904 0x002D6E28 0x002D70E8 0x002D5DF4
    0x002D51DC 0x004ACE60 0x004AAE00 0x004A9E98 0x00108CA0 0x000D5B90 0x000FE238 0x000D6C70
    0x0022CDA8 0x000FE28C 0x00103BD8 0x00104668 0x00231744 0x000F8ED4 0x000EC1D0 0x000E8994
    0x000EC21C 0x002AAE28 0x000AB930 0x743B2F6B
    Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.apple.iokit.IOStorageFamily(1.5)@0x498000
    Proceeding back via exception chain:
    Exception state (sv=0x38053000)
    previously dumped as "Latest" state. skipping...
    Exception state (sv=0x37E4C000)
    PC=0x9003B76C; MSR=0x0200F030; DAR=0xE0006000; DSISR=0x42000000; LR=0x00002FE0; R1=0xBFFFFD80; XCP=0x00000030 (0xC00 - System call)

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 8.8.0: Fri Sep 8 17:18:57 PDT 2006; root:xnu-792.12.6.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC
    panic(cpu 0 caller 0xFFFF0003): 0x300 - Data access
    Latest stack backtrace for cpu 0:
    Backtrace:
    0x00095138 0x00095650 0x00026898 0x000A7E04 0x000AB780
    Proceeding back via exception chain:
    Exception state (sv=0x38053000)
    PC=0x00081B50; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x10000018; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x0007F938; R1=0x2201B3A0; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
    Backtrace:
    0x02AB5200 0x0007F938 0x0007D904 0x002D6E28 0x002D70E8 0x002D5DF4
    0x002D51DC 0x004ACE60 0x004AAE00 0x004A9E98 0x00108CA0 0x000D5B90 0x000FE238 0x000D6C70
    0x0022CDA8 0x000FE28C 0x00103BD8 0x00104668 0x00231744 0x000F8ED4 0x000EC1D0 0x000E8994
    0x000EC21C 0x002AAE28 0x000AB930 0x743B2F6B
    Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.apple.iokit.IOStorageFamily(1.5)@0x498000
    Exception state (sv=0x37E4C000)
    PC=0x9003B76C; MSR=0x0200F030; DAR=0xE0006000; DSISR=0x42000000; LR=0x00002FE0; R1=0xBFFFFD80; XCP=0x00000030 (0xC00 - System call)

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 8.8.0: Fri Sep 8 17:18:57 PDT 2006; root:xnu-792.12.6.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC
    Model: PowerMac6,4, BootROM 4.8.8f0, 1 processors, PowerPC G4 (1.1), 1.25 GHz, 1.5 GB
    Graphics: ATI Radeon 9200, ATY,RV280, AGP, 32 MB
    Memory Module: DIMM0/J2, 1 GB, DDR SDRAM, PC2700U-30330
    Memory Module: DIMM1/J1, 512 MB, DDR SDRAM, PC2700U-25330
    AirPort: AirPort Extreme, 405.1 (3.90.34.0.p18)
    Modem: Jump, , V.92, Version 1.0,
    Bluetooth: Version 1.7.8f2, 2 service, 1 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
    Network Service: AirPort, AirPort, en1
    Parallel ATA Device: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-117D, 2.89 GB
    Parallel ATA Device: ST380011A, 74.53 GB
    USB Device: ImageMate 12 in 1 Reader/Writer, SanDisk, Up to 480 Mb/sec, 500 mA
    USB Device: Bluetooth HCI, , Up to 12 Mb/sec, 500 mA
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Yeah sorry, I think that's the RAM. Can you take it back and get a different chip? :)
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
  4. Old Smuggler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Old Smuggler

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #4
    it is supposed to have a lifetime gurantee if im correct
    everyone highly reccomended OWC for their ram yet this is dissapointing
    well sometimes you get a bad egg i guess
    i heard they have good customer service though
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    OK, subsiduary question - Which Mac do you have?

    EDIT: OK I looked it up - PowerMac6,4 eMac (USB 2.0), eMac (2005)

    THe PC2700 stick is correct for that model, looks like a defective, go ahead and get it replaced.
     
  6. Old Smuggler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Old Smuggler

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #7
    oh sorry i thought i posted
    emac 1.25

    they have been excellent to deal with so far so i should have no trouble exchanging it if that is what it is
     
  7. Old Smuggler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Old Smuggler

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #8
    i just thought it was odd how everything showed up as "OK" but im still having this problem
     
  8. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #9
    The Hardware Test CD isn't very thorough. If it reports a fault then you know you've got one; but if it doesn't report a fault, that doesn't necessarily mean all is well. You've tested the RAM in the best possible way -- by removing it.
     
  9. Old Smuggler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Old Smuggler

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #10
    yeah i just tried to install the Sims 2 with the ram in
    that is the same program it initialy crashed on and it crashed again
    so i removed the 1gb OWC ram
    left in the 512 stick from Crucial and put back in the 256 Hynix ram from Apple and the install went fine
    so i guess ill call them tomorow
     
  10. Old Smuggler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Old Smuggler

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #11
    well i called them today and tthey said to reset my NVRAM
    did that and nothing has arisen yet

    anyone familiar with this resetting procedure what all does it entail?
     

Share This Page