keyboard driving me nuts

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by naomirand, Sep 22, 2006.

1. naomirand macrumors newbie

I have keyboard problems. I've tried buying new keyboards, switching them round. I work on an iMac and a G4. Each has trouble with the keyboards. I just bought a brand new Apple keyboard. That is a problem too. On one machine the keyboard spacing bar works oddly. On another the keyboard types extra letters. Has anyone seen anything like this before?
    Help!

2. Warbrain macrumors 603

Warbrain

No offense or anything, but it could just be you. Maybe you need to get used to the keyboard.

3. naomirand thread starter macrumors newbie

keyboard

I only wish I had to get used to the keyboard. I've been working on these keyboards for a while and the problem started happening recently. I'm a professional writer so basically all I do is type. Thus I'm plenty aware of
    keyboard problems. Again, if anyone has ever experienced keyboard issues, and these are with more than one keyboard in various configurations, please let me know what you did to make things work.
    Thanks.

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

I love pro-bono troubleshooting for strangers on the net with little or no relevant technical information, but... ;)

What are the specific computer models?

What is the OS version?

What are the specific keyboards?

How do they connect? If they are wireless, do they use built-in bluetooth or some kind of dongle?

What, if any, software do you have that modifies system behavior?

Do you have Assistive Devices support enabled? If so, what is turned on?

What are your settings in the Keyboards preference pane?

5. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

My old Pro keyboard (black one with 15 F keys) got really screwy ---- it would hold onto a letter especially S and keep typing it. ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss...............

I bought a new Apple Keyboard (The open white one with 16 F keys) and it's been fine, it's just a dust magnet.