Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mamcx

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 13, 2008
I get my first mac ever, a macbook with leopard and all the updates applies as today.

Ok, so this OS X look good and start & run overally good.

But the way the keyboard shorcuts work are driving me crazy. Because I'm a developer I depend more in working on the keyb, and after 4 days on this still get confused in how:

- Start, End, PG Up, Pg Down not work as expected. Start not go to the star, End not go to the end (move char by char ?), Pg up & down only move a line at time.

I can shift-end to move to the end of a line, and instead select a whole block of text.

This is my main problem. How emulate this?

- Del key not delete. I know about the crazy control-backspace for deleting but...

- Is normal that keyboard navigation barelly work on forms? I can't cycle on text-edits but when, for example, a form have:

- TextEdit
- TextEdit
- CheckBook

the checkbook can't be focused with tab or enter. Is necesary move the mouse

- So, what trully is the enter key replacement here?

Enter work a bit weird, IMHO. When hit some file, I hit enter and put the thing to rename!. Plop! Also, ENTER is USELESS in dialogs... if a dialog have visually the Accept button selected I expect that hitting enter clik on that button. But not.

- Leopard can set a whole font size. That sucks. Thinker do more or less something but on this 13" screen the font look very bad... and lowering the resolution is worst.

----

I have synergyKM so I can use my windows keyboard and some thing work better, but in short, exist a guide for how use the keyboard in mac????

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
I will address the ones of these that I know. I've collected over time, just getting bugged enough by something to track it down. Unfortunately this means I don't have a good reference.