Keyboard Shortcut Question from newbie.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by inlimbo, Feb 27, 2005.

1. inlimbo macrumors 6502

Hi,

I got my new PB a few days ago and Im learning how to use OS X for the first time. I love it by the way. But I am having trouble with a few shortcuts.

When I use my PC to get to the "File" menu in an App I press the "Alt" button on my keyboard and then use my arrow keys to navigate the various menus - edit, format etc... How do I do this in OS X? Can u do it?

Im just finding it annoying because Im writing an essay in Office 04 for Mac and I want to use the "Alt" key so that I can go to the "Insert" menu and then use the down arrow to get to "Footnote". I hate doing this with my trackpad - because Im new to using trackpads so im a bit slow. :eek:
    In OS X u can create ur own shortcuts can't you? Can I make a shortcut to Insert->Footnote in Office '04 for Mac?

NOTE: This is not a PC user winge but an honest question :) I love my new Apple and I wont be going back! :cool:

Cheers,
    inlimbo...

2. Logik macrumors 6502a

sadly i can agree that this is a needed thing... unfortunately in nearly the year i've had my powerbook i have not figured out WHY in the LIVING HECK apple does not allow this... it's a basic thing that is needed, why should we be FORCED to use a mouse.. or memorize stupid keyboard shortcuts for EVERYTHING when we can simply use a shortcut to get to the menu's... i asked this question before and no one could tell me how, simply because you can't... i guess you can by turning on the accessibility thing, but even then it's just not the same. same goes for the ability to increase fontsize THROUGHOUT the system... major headache.. Tiger should include the ability to fix the system font size thing. but i'm doubting it helps in the keyboard shortcut arena at all... i'm waiting for a good way to do this, so keep me informed !

3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan