Kingston ValueRam works just fine

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pascals, Nov 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #1
    I always come looking here to see if things are compatible with my macs, couldn't find this one. This thread is here just to confirm that Kingston's KVR13R9D4K4/64I ValueRam 64GB(4x16) 1333Mhz C9 Reg x4 I works just fine in my mid 2010 mac pro, has the thermal sensor, ECC and all.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Hi, I installed 2x 16GB dimms in my 2012 Hex Mac Pro. How much memory can a single processor handle, I keep hearing 48GB being thrown around, how is the 64GB in yours being addressed? dual processor system?

    The parts I used and can confirm as fully compatible are part number - KVR13LR904/16HM 1.35v
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #3
    Yeah, mine is a dual processor, should have specified that.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    Mind me asking where you got it and how much it cost, I'm trying to find 3x8gb sticks but coming at at around $210 which seems a little rich to me. Thanks
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #5
    ECC Ram is expensive, cost me 470 euro. I bought it in the Netherlands where I live. We have a website which does price comparisons for all Dutch web shops, got one of the cheapest.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #6
    Thanks, just bought KTA-MP1333DRK3/24G (Kingston 3x8GB) from Amazon warehouse for $140, good price I think. I confirmed with Kingston their lifetime warranty extended to RAM sold by Amazon Warehouse before purchasing as it is used - very good condition, also it sits in the regular Amazon extended returns period policy also so all good I think.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #7
    correction...Kingston rang me back after I'd placed the order and told me the lifetime warranty does not extend to the item as it was used...so I've cancelled that order and will look for a new offering of the same product..(it's not as if the damn product has changed any by the change of ownership!!!) hihi..
     
  8. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Lifetime warranties are always for the original owner only unless specified otherwise.

    This is a bigger deal than you'd think, because it implies you have to prove you are the original order by way of a receipt, which can certainly become lost over a lifetime.
     

Share This Page