KisMAC Airport Extreme Passive Mode (R75)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ncoffey, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. ncoffey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #1
    Warning: I assume no responsibility for anything that happens if you try this alpha software. It's not even a real alpha release of kismac.

    I can't seem to get this to work on my Mac Mini with Airport Extreme. It loads up and I can select the passive driver but when I start scanning, it can't load the driver. Then the airport extreme driver isn't loaded up again and the computer has to be restarted. If anybody's interested in experimenting:

    http://binaervarianz.de/downloads.php/redir.html?action=download&mirror=http&file_id=36

    Edit: I got it to work by disabling automatic airport connection and disconnecting my ethernet cable when i restarted. Now it works like a charm.
     
  2. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #2
    Interesting! Passive scanning on an Airport Extreme FINALLY?! I was beginning to wonder if it would ever be a reality...

    Oh what the heck, I'll be a guinea pig. :D
     
  3. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #3

    Please let us know how this goes... Not sure if I can guinea pig it.
     
  4. Jomoma macrumors regular

    Jomoma

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #4
    works great for me, i've got a new 14' iBook. passive mode let me find the ssid of a hidden network.
    Where can i find how to use the other tools in kismac? how do i know when to use which crack?
     
  5. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #5
    Okay, when I launched Kismac it gave me an error that it couldn't locate a driver. I hit okay, then went into drivers under Preferences and added the Airport Extreme Passive Mode, then quit Kismac. I turned off my Airport card, then relaunched Kismac, went to start scanning, and it prompted me for the admin password to switch out drivers. Sure enough, it worked! I was actually collecting data with my Airport Extreme card. Woohoo!

    The only downside is it didn't reload the original driver upon quitting, so I had to restart in order for the system to recognize I had an Airport card again. Aside from that, this looks very promising!

    Thanks for the link ncoffey!
     
  6. ncoffey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #6
    No idea. I've only seen data packets on my own network and I'm using WPA2 so I'm not sure. Maybe I'll downgrade to WEP for a few days to try this out.
     
  7. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #7

    Nice. Thanks. Wel as soon as that reload original drivers thing is sorted out I'll start playing.
     
  8. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #8
    Very nice find! I've been wanting this feature in KisMAC for a while. Seems to work fairly well with my PowerBook G4.
     
  9. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #9
    Ah, too bad I still have the original AirPort card.

    But my next Mac will be a portable so I'm glad to hear that they might have finally sorted this out.
     
  10. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #10
    Well, after playing with it a bit more it appears to be behaving itself now! As long as you turn off Airport before launching Kismac, when you start the scan it will prompt you for your password to load the special driver, and when you quit it will swap it back and you can turn Airport back on as normal.

    I think what my problem was was using a special driver for my secondary card, a D-Link DWL-122. Once I removed the driver and just used Kismac's, it worked beautifully. I even cracked my home network. Yay! :rolleyes: :D
     
  11. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #11
    You do know Kismac has always supported the original Airport card in passive, right?
     
  12. PickledSquirrel macrumors regular

    PickledSquirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aarhus, DK
    #12
    My thoughts exactly... It does say on the homepage " This program is not intended for novices, but for professional users. Take this as a warning" but still... where´s my "kismac for dummies?"

    -Squirrel
     
  13. Fred Flintstone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #13
    Just as a heads up, I had the toughest time getting the passive mode driver to work in Kismac R75 on Tiger until I found out I needed to upgrade to at least 10.4.2(up'd to 10.4.3). Then it worked like a charm! Up until then I was getting "could not enable monitor mode for Apple Extreme".
     
  14. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #14
    Cool.
    I just picked up a netgear ma111 to use with kismac, wish I'd seen this thread before buying. I don't see R75 available at the kismac site, though, only through your link.
     
  15. mcmadhatter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #15
    I set up my old router with 104 bit encryption, and then cracked the key in 4 3/4 days using my ibook. Kind of scary!! So I then double checked that my new router had only allowed my mac addresses and that it was using wpa. should make it a bit more secure. but to think i have just been using wep by itself for the first two years, who knows what could have happened :confused:
     
  16. aldenwoods macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #16
    iMac Intel Core Duo 2GHz.

    Has anyone got KisMAC running under the Intel Core Duo 2GHz?
    I states that the drive has loaded but can't open the Monitor Mode..
    Any idea?
     
  17. BlairOR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    I am getting the same error. In for an answer :D
     
  18. mcmadhatter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #18
    go to http://kismac.de/_trac/wiki

    they are now on binary r98 for 0.2a it is a universal binary and i think has fixed most of the problems with intel macs
     
  19. nrd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #19
    If you're intimidated by SVN, I have a binary I compiled on my MacBook. Intel-only KisMAC R115. You use this at your own risk; if it messes up your machine, don't complain to me. I just compiled it, and so far it's working well.

    edit: updated link to reflect URL changes
     
  20. Coolnat2004 macrumors 6502

    Coolnat2004

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #20
    So, are you saying that passive mode will enable me to collect packets from nearby networks? I'm assuming that I must disconnect from my current network while doing this?

    If there were any networks in range I might try it out, but I think I will wait until all the issues are sorted out.

    Is there anything else cool you can do with this?
     
  21. mcmadhatter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #21
    they have ppc binaries on the website i listed, it woeks fine in passive with airport extreme on my ibook, and yes you do need to disconnect from your network to be able to scan
     
  22. Bunsen Burner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    #22
    Does this contain the drivers for the Atheros card found in the Intel iMac and the MBP? Or is this simply an Intel binary with the Broadcom drivers found in previous Airport equipped Macs (and therefore of little use to Intel Mac owners)?

    BB
     
  23. inkhead macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #23
    it's still absolutely pointless... You need to be able to use a card that lets you inject fake authentication requests, and then reinject the packets.

    without that you have to wait months, and weeks to manually collect enough packets to crack a network...

    for now just get yourself a $20 pc card that supported.
     
  24. nrd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #24
    I checked it out from SVN and I do believe that that includes the additional drivers. This does work with Airport Extreme on my Intel Mac, but I don't have any other wifi devices to test it with.
     
  25. mcmadhatter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #25
    Thats not entirely true, wep can crack without reinjection in 24 hours(even 128 bit), WPA takes longer
     

Share This Page