Konfabulator 1.5 is now available

Discussion in 'New Mac Application Announcements' started by MacBytes, Jul 23, 2003.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
  2. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    I guess love it or hate it... a new version is out.

    :)

    arn
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #3
    i hope they ll impement sooner or later that the widgets can t be moved on the desktop, if you set the preference so.
    and that you can put icons atop the widgets, then i will use confabulator, not before, my desktop place is to useful to put some widgets around.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Jerry Spoon

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Location:
    Historic St. Charles
    #5
    I thought it was an interesting concept and tried it out, but it mucked up my system a bit. I might try this new version and see if it's any better.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    i'm sorry, but i hate konfabulator. i had it for a week, and then the widgets got in the way, and my whole systeem started to slow down. horrible, just horrible.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Indiana
    #7
    I use Konfabulator all the time! It's great for a quick reference on a laptop for a clock, battery status, etc. especially for tired eyes!

    Kudos to Arlo Rose! My registration is on the way!
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #8
    Konfabulator was neat when I tried it, but it only seemed to be a toy that became old quickly. I dunno, I wouldn't say I love it or hate it, but it's "ok" :rolleyes:
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Gelfin

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #9
    I guess somebody has to post from the "love it" camp. I've noticed no problems as a result of using it, and I have a couple of utility widgets on my desktop all the time. The initial release had a pretty nasty memory leak, but they patched that quickly.

    Note for maradong: Since OS X wants to align icons to the right edge of the screen, why not put widgets along the left? That's how I do it. Then if your desktop is so full of icons that the widgets get in the way, then you've got no business calling your desktop "useful."

    EDIT (also for maradong): I just installed the new version, and you can do EXACTLY what you want. In the widget preferences, set "Level of Window" to "Desktop" and your icons go on top of your widget.
     
  10. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #10
    I *like* it, but have had some problems. When it runs on my G3, it slows everything down and hogs most of the system resources, and refuses to quit.

    however

    on my powerbook, it runs quietly in the background and is a much better indicator of airport range than the built-in bar version of the OS... and the multiple clocks is nice to have when you travel a lot, which I haven't been doing lately, but will be soon.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #11
    Does this new version issue the 'omfg, why is the hogging my system' issue?

    I mean that was really annoying, there are some GREAT apps (widgets) but I can't stand it using that much CPU!
     
  12. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #12
    Did I totally MISS every version update from 1.0.1 to 1.5?

    I'm so confused, My last version was 1.0.1 and I never saw an update, untill now...

    WHAT GIVES :ahh:
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #13
    I love widgets!!! They are so cool. They look cool too. I am glad that a new version of konfabulator is out.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #14
    Kind of like the jump from 8.1 to 8.5 huh? What happened to 8.2, 8.3, and 8.4 anyway? :p
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Gelfin

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15
    The last public version was 1.0.2, which was the one that fixed the memory leak as I recall.

    It's not uncommon for a developer to jump several minor version numbers, indicating the significance of the upgrade. You didn't miss anything but 1.0.1 to 1.0.2.

    EDIT: Oh, and it seems to have very little impact on my system, performance-wise. I imagine some individual widgets could possibly, but in general it's very friendly. Granted I'm on a 17" PB, so your mileage (particularly on a G3) may vary.
     
  16. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #16
    Hey its like an prelealsed alpha beta version becoming gold master with no steps in the middle.

    They didn't even make a 1.1 ... wtf.
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    he should have gone to 1.1 before 1.5.
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #18
    Konfabualtor is so cool. Maybe ill install x on my g3 and download it
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #19
    Pay for software that has no functionality other than to let people write 'widgets' to make it useful? No thanks.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #20
    True that, Its fun to watch the widgets they ship with but jeez. Pay $25 for something you have to make is wrong. This is a sub $10 app
     

Share This Page