Kosher Coke

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Jasonbot, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #1
    Anyone seen this around? It appears that Coca-Cola is now officially pork-free until after that whole fasting thing;) Can't wait till it's over, can't stand it :p
     
  2. MongoTheGeek macrumors 68040

    MongoTheGeek

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    Its not so much where you are as when you are.
    #2
    Kosher coke is Kosher for passover. During passover there are additional dietary restrictions that high fructose corn syrup runs afoul of so they use sugar instead of the corn syrup.
     
  3. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #3
    I have heard that Kosher Coke exists (the difference is that they use sucrose instead of high fructose corn syrup), but the only place I've ever heard people get it is in Atlanta.

    I'm from Birmingham, AL, and I had a Jewish friend who would make trips to Atlanta and bring back cases of kosher Coke for a high school teacher who specifically requested it.

    I hear it's good...I'd like to try some :)

    Edit: Ah, Mongo beat me to the details :D
     
  4. MongoTheGeek macrumors 68040

    MongoTheGeek

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    Its not so much where you are as when you are.
    #4
    Any metropolitan area actually. I grew up outside of DC and we had it there. My mom would stock up because she preferred the taste.

    There are actually places that use sugar year round. It depends on what's cheapest locally.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Is there kosher diet coke? :eek: Mmmm... Diet Coke. :)
     
  6. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #6
    I'm not 100% certain about this, but since Diet Coke doesn't use HFCS as its sweetener, I think it's already kosher...
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    I'm 100% not Jewish, so it's academic, but it is interesting... so it's specifically something relatively unusual about the way HFCS is made that prevents those kinds of drinks from being Kosher?

    EDIT: Ahh, so apparently, it is specifically the fact that corn is involved?
     
  8. Jasonbot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #8
  9. jimN macrumors 6502a

    jimN

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Shame, meat coke, mmmmmm!

    Apparently they make coke this way all year round in Mexico. However, my source is tenuous - I read it in Dave Gorman's Googlewhack adventure and it just stuck in my head.
     
  10. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #10
    According to this article, there are a few things that make regular Coke non-kosher:

     
  11. Pyrus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    #11
    Both Kosher Coke and Diet Coke exist. I work in a supermarket in the UK and we have a whole section for Kosher and Passover.
     

Share This Page