KVM Switch Question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by wsteineker, Apr 14, 2003.

  1. wsteineker macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #1
    I'm looking to buy a KVM to share my ADC display between a PowerMac (ADC connection, obviously) and my x86 Linux box (VGA). Any suggestions as far as which switch will do the job? I'd prefer not to break the bank with this one, but I do want quality. Thanks!
     
  2. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #2
    Re: KVM Switch Question

    Does your PC have a DVI connector? Also does the PC have USB ports for the keyboard and mouse?

    This was the only one I could find that wasn't a pro-job that would allow you to connect a PC without an expensive adaptor. It uses to DVI inputs and outputs to ADC.

    http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=610956/search=adc kvm/ut=0ce187847213863e
     
  3. wsteineker thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #3
    Re: Re: KVM Switch Question

    No, I've got the GeForce 3 Ti200 card in the PC. It's the budget card with VGA only. As for the USB issue, yeah it's got plenty of USB ports. I'm looking for a KVM that will allow me to switch the monitor and the keyboard and mouse so that I don't have to clutter my tiny desk up. Can I use a VGA-ADC adaptor like those from Griffin or Dr. Bott to convert the VGA to ADC for the purposes of KVM integration?
     
  4. wsteineker thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #4
    The Linux Box also has S-Video, if that helps.
     
  5. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #5
    Re: Re: Re: KVM Switch Question

    Sorry I just updated my previous post and added a link to a KVM switch. I don't see a problem in a VGA -> DVI adaptor and using that KVM. For your purpose it should work just the way you want it to.
     
  6. wsteineker thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #6
    OK, did a little more research into the whole VGA to ADC adaptor, and it seems as though they're all terribly expensive ($300+). Am I missing something here, or will it be cheaper to get a new video card for the pc that supports DVI and just get a DVI to ADC converter?
     
  7. wsteineker thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #7
    OK, from looking at that link it seems that the best solution for me would be to just get the KVM in question and a DVI video card for the PC, sell the old one on eBay, and cut my losses. Sound about right? If so, can you recommend a decent and cheap DVI equipped card for the PC? It doesn't have to be anywhere near the top of the line, as the box is just a web server running Red Hat. That's why it's not getting its own monitor, actually. It's not worth the space.
     
  8. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #8
    Does the pc have an AGP slot?

    Here's the cheapest card I could find with DVI.

    http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=511189/search=dvi%20card/ut=0ce187847213863e

    Here is the search I used. I don't see anything wrong with the 7500 I listed above but if you want something with a bit more oomph you might consider the GeForce4 MX440 it has twice the ram as the 7500 for $10 more.

    http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_... card&topcat_id=1&found=2&ut=0ce187847213863e
     
  9. wsteineker thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #9
    Thanks man. The 7500 will more than fit the bill for a Linux web server. It looks like that KVM combined with the 7500 will be just the ticket. I appreciate all the help! :)
     
  10. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #10
    Not a problem.
     

Share This Page